SQL server/Missing NLS files

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by Kelemen Lorand, Jun 3, 2012.

  1. Kelemen Lorand

    Kelemen Lorand New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i`m new to this forum
    Maybe this isn`t the right section but i`m in a hurry.

    So i was trying to set up a server using microsoft sql server 2000(i have windows 7 ofc)
    but i can't seem to attach databases, I`m getting an error message:

    2012-06-03 12:19:26.21 spid51 Database 'gamedb' contains columns or parameters with the following code page(s) not supported by the operating system: 936, 950.

    Someone told me that my windows was missing .NLS files from system32 and indeed it was,but the problem remained the same even after i downloaded the C_936.NLS and c_950.NLS files.

    Any ideas how this could be fixed without installing a new windows.
    Also, the NLS files i downloaded were 196 kbytes each, whereas all the other ones in my system32 folder were only 66 kbytes, which i think might be the problem.

    Any ideas.? thanks in advance
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Hello and welcome to the forum.
    As best as I can determine SQL 2000 will not work properly when installed on Windows 7 (or Vista for that matter) even after it's been service packed, updated, patched and hotfixed to the max there are still issues. Can you use something like SQL Express instead? I believe it is a free download Download: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Express - Microsoft Download Center - Download Details and while not as robust as the full version may serve to get you over the hump.
    Regards
    Randy

    EDIT: Looks like they have r2 RTM available which may be more appropriate for a Windows 7 install http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=23650
     
    #2 Trouble, Jun 3, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2012
  3. Kelemen Lorand

    Kelemen Lorand New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i`m going to try it, but the thing is, i was using sql 2000 because i`ve set up a server before using that program + there are quite a few guides how to set up a server(for a specific game). I`ll just try this then but i doubt i`ll manage to do it since i`m not really good at stuff like this ...

    Anyway, thanks for the tip!

    _________________________________________

    Managed to set it up the right way with all the tools but exactly the same error message occurs so... It`s time to change windows i guess

    ty again
     
    #3 Kelemen Lorand, Jun 3, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...