Standard VGA Graphics Adapter

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by quadcake, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys. I need help.

    I upgraded my Windows XP to windows 7 and now my video driver is screwed up.
    It was a nVidia driver, I believe. I used to play games on my computer, but now I can't since my video driver is messed up. Also, my aero is disabled.

    I remember it being a GeForce4 MX 420 (or 440) with AGP8X.
    That is a windows xp driver, and I cannot download it since it's not compatible with my hardware. I tried scanning for drivers that can match up with my computer, but it's not compatible with the hardware either.


    Thanks.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  3. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks, but there's a problem, when i download it and change it to my graphics card, there would be a caution sign and I thought it was outdated so I updated it and now it's back to the previous one. I know I can reinstall it again, but how do I prevent that from happening?

    P.S I used the have disk method.
     
    #3 quadcake, Jan 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    What caution sign? Where? Did the driver install?
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563

    Do you mean your Windows update app auto updates to the previous driver? If this is the case then change your update settings to 'Check for updates but let me choose to download and install them.' It's then simply a case of rightclicking on the update and hiding it.

    If the above is not relevant then please give more information on the sign your seeing.
     
  6. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Untitled.


    Caution sign right here. I did the windows update thing, and it still doesn't work.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Rather than install by the 'Have disk' method have you tried to install the vista drivers as usual? Like I wrote before you can always try compatibility mode..
     
  8. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no idea how to do compatibility mode. I googled it up but it's confusing, because there is no compatibility tab. Sorry if I'm asking too much.
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Quadcake please don't apologise, that's why we are here.. :)

    Ok, compatibility mode... As you know, to get your install started with the vista graphics driver there is a certain icon that you left click and the installation starts. Instead of left clicking on the icon please right click and choose 'properties'. Look across the top and you should see the compatibility tab, click that and you'll then see where you can change settings to allow the app to run as if it was running under something like xp..

    To show as an example I took a screenshot of me applying the same type of settings to a ATI driver and the process is exactly the same for you too.

    Any problems please post back. Oh, Good luck! :)
     
  10. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I did that. What do I do now? It still has the caution sign.

    Do I reinstall it using the have disk method?
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I'm still wondering why your seeing the little triangle. Can you open 'Run' and type 'Dxdiag' (without the quotes) then save the information? I did a screen shot showing you where to click for the info. If you could then zip this report and include it in your next post I'll be very grateful.
     
    #11 kemical, Jan 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  12. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I did the info thing. I didn't know what you meant by zipping it so I made a download. Here:

    DxDiag.txt
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Thankyou. Your card is still not being seen properly so can you un-install the graphics driver and then run this app:

    Guru3D - Driver Sweeper (Setup) download from Guru3D.com

    Once all nvidia driver remnants have been removed then re-install using the driver I found for you earlier. Please make sure your anti virus is turned off when re-installing.
     
  14. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried it. It's not working. I am certainly positive I am doing something wrong.
    Either I am uninstalling/reinstalling it wrong or the program error: when it reboots, it gives me an error that it stopped working so I don't think the sweeper fully didn't clean it yet.
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  16. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    From your DxDiag.txt:





    Upgrade advisor report:

    Windows Aero support

    Your current graphics adapter won't support the Windows Aero user interface. If you want to experience the benefits of Windows Aero, contact your PC manufacturer or retailer to see if an upgrade is available.
    Go online to learn more about Windows Aero.
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Thanks... Unfortunately my suspicions were correct. If you check the screenshot you'll see that the card is just too old, upgrading would be a better option.

    View attachment 10783
     
  19. quadcake

    quadcake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oops, my bad, the download I gave you was the standard vga. The nvidia one shows the same thing but it's compatible with my hardware.
    Just letting you know. I'll try getting a update right now.
    Oh and I have code 43 on my driver, so if you can help me out with that, it would be great. I'm sure that's the one last step I need to fix to get my driver working :)
     
  20. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Code 43 means:



    GeForce4 Series are not compattible with Windows 7.
     

Share This Page

Loading...