Windows 7 Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by I JaR oF JaM I, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. I JaR oF JaM I

    I JaR oF JaM I New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Solved] Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

    Hey, guys.

    I recently got a copy of SW:KOTOR and installed it fine, but when I went to run it, it says "This game requires DirectX 9.0c (April 2006) or higher to run. You have an older version installed at the moment."

    I ran dxdiag and I have DirectX 11 (like everyone else). What could be wrong?

    Thanks in advanced,
    -Stephen
     
    #1 I JaR oF JaM I, Sep 18, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2009
  2. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
  3. I JaR oF JaM I

    I JaR oF JaM I New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, I did that and it still gives me the error... =(

    I don't know why it does it. Maybe KOTOR just doesn't work on W7?
     
  4. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    #4 Highwayman, Sep 20, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2009
  5. I JaR oF JaM I

    I JaR oF JaM I New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, man, thanks. That fixed it. I no longer get the DirectX error. I'll let you know if there's any other errors. =)
     
  6. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    glad to help a fellow gamer out...was toying with playing throught it again myself, could I just ask you to edit your original post and flag to solved on the title cheers.
     
  7. I JaR oF JaM I

    I JaR oF JaM I New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done. Thanks again.
     
  8. steve6391

    steve6391 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys new on the forum but had a questin bout this which is doing my nut in. i gt a new copy of the game lately as my old copy was scratched for over use lol. thats cheat where you put enable cheats=1 into the ini. file?well it wont let me save that on my uncles windows 7 pc wtf is up with that as have full admin rights and was able to do it on my vista at home
    any help would be hot :)
     
  9. victorng34

    victorng34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys. I have a problem with my Star Wars the Knights of the Old Republic game. Every time after I finish the quest where I first get on the Ebon Hawk after killing Davik, and it goes to the cinematic with Malak decimating Taris, my game suddenly "alt-tabs" itself and I go to my desktop where I can't get back in the game. Is there something I can do to fix this? I've tried to change my resolution on my desktop to match my game's resolution. But sit still hasn't helped. Is there anything else I can do? Let me know whenever you guys figure it out! Thanks, everyone!
     
  10. victorng34

    victorng34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    disable fullscreen mode and use run in window mode, to see what happens
     
  12. victorng34

    victorng34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i looked in EVERY possible options menu in KotOR, and there is not a single spot that allows me to disable or enable fullscreen mode/ windows mode. is there any where else I can do this? :((
     
  13. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    with most games simply holding Left ALT with Enter/Return does the trick, and the same to revert back to fullscreen
     
  14. victorng34

    victorng34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    All it does is brings me back to my desktop, like Alt+Tab or the windows button would. :S Is there another command, perhaps?
     
  15. victorng34

    victorng34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    SWKotOR doesn't allow you to automatically go to Windows Mode, so I had to find something on the internet to edit this and so I did. The Windows mode thing was correct. I really appreciate your help, there! Thanks!
     
  16. kevinfischer

    kevinfischer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi ladies and gentlemen. I've been reading this thread and it seems as though people here know what they're talking about. So for the problem.

    I recently re-installed Knights of the Old Republic on my Windows 7 Ultimate laptop. I have patched the game enough to be able to play it with no problems, yet. I have loved this game since it came out and I just wanted to run through it again for nostalgia sake. I have changed my .ini file to enable cheats correctly (I think), but when I hit my "`" button on my keyboard, nothing happens. I was wondering if this was a common issue and how to remedy this situation. Thank you for your time

    Kevin
     

Share This Page

Loading...