Start Menu Search Gone?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by sakr232000, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. sakr232000

    sakr232000 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there, yes of course i did reboot.
    btw, for clarity, the search box is present in the start menu, but when i type anything , it shows nothing,
    for ex. i type "notepad", but it shows nothing, though i can open it manually.??/!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Not sure if this might have something to do with indexing. Maybe someone who understands and uses the search will spot this.

    TBH, I know the re-boot because the first thing I do on a fresh install is remove the Windows search and replace it with a.n.other.
     
  3. sakr232000

    sakr232000 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, i also deleted the index n rebuilt it again, still the problem persists...
    one more thing i wonder if this problem is caused by some 3rd party program, !! Does anyone know any particular programs that might be the source of the problem.?????
    thnx anyway
     
  4. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    just as its not been mentioned

    right click task bar
    properties
    start menu
    customize
    use default settings
    click ok
    reboot
     
  5. sakr232000

    sakr232000 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did , but no result..:(
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Seems like when I search from the Start Menu, SearchIndexer.exe starts up. You might check Task Manager - Services - WSearch to see if that service is running. I suppose you get the same outcome if you use the Winkey + F?

    Sorry if I am repeating something but it looks this thread was actually started somewhere else.

    Edit: I can also get to show nothing if I uncheck the "Search programs and Control Panel" option on the start Menu Customize area. It seems the restore default suggestion should have changed this back.

    I suppose the fallback position is to do an SFC /scannow in an administrative command prompt.

    There is also a Search Troubleshooter you can run as admin if you haven't already.
     
    #6 Saltgrass, Sep 15, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...