start up repair

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by donshull6, Feb 19, 2012.

  1. donshull6

    donshull6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running a start up repair for over 24 hours and its still running as we speak, is it actually doing something or just loo[ing acting like its doing something?
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If it runs for more that about 5 minutes on each run, there is probably something wrong. The only time I have seen it run much longer is when it was trying to repair a system that did not have an active partition.

    Why are you running it, system would not boot and what message did you get?

    Have you changed any drives in your system lately or changed the Bios boot device list?
     
  3. donshull6

    donshull6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    windows failed to start launch startup repairwhich they said was reccommended or start normally, i tried start normally and it went to start up repair anyway. did do change anything at all on the last shut down
     
  4. Snake

    Snake New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    A boot repair should only take 5 minutes or less. There must be something wrong with windows. Have you changed anything in your system? Installed new AV software?
     
  5. donshull6

    donshull6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have not changed anything that i can think of that would affect windows
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    When this type of situation occurs, it is almost like you need to flip a coin to see what might be wrong. I would say most of the time it is because of a driver being installed that is causing problems, but no way to know for sure.

    Can you get into the F8 menu and select Use Last Know Good Configuration, or boot into Safe Mode?
     

Share This Page

Loading...