Startup Issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by NEOidea, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. NEOidea

    NEOidea New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I'm having a problem. When I startup windows 7 (more specs to follow), the BIOS loads, then a bit of a black screen, then the Starting Windows 7 screen, then a longer black screen, then the Welcome Screen, from there it loads the desktop.

    The entire startup is over 2 and a half minutes long, and I think that's a little long. All of the loading screens (except the BIOS screen) take a bit. The computer runs fine. I've already cleared my startup items to the bare minimum, and updated all the drivers. I even tried disconnecting all the attached devices, booting in safe mode, it happens all around.

    I need help fixing this (if it even is a problem, if not, let me know)

    Here are my computer specs:
    Windows 7 64bit Professional SP1

    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.13 GHz
    Conroe 65nm Technology

    RAM:
    2.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 399MHz (5-5-5-15)

    MOTHERBOARD:
    ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5B-Deluxe (LGA 775)

    GRAPHICS:
    Sparkle GeForce (NVIDIA) 8400GS 512MB DDR3 PCI

    HARD DRIVE (which is IDE- can't afford more right now, could that be the problem???)
    117GB Seagate ST3120026A ATA Device (PATA)

    Please help!
     
  2. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Run the following in cmd as Admin:
    sfc /scannow
    chkdsk /r/f
    %SystemRoot%\System32\Cmd.exe /c Cleanmgr /sageset:65535 & Cleanmgr /sagerun:65535, hit Enter, check ALL boxes, Hit OK

    Run CCleaner
    Run Malwarebytes

    And Internet Options, Delete, Delete.

    Run Start-up Repair from the OS disc.

    Report back, please & thank you.

    Cheers,
    Drew
     
  3. NEOidea

    NEOidea New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, and I use Avast as my antivirus software as well (the free version.)

    I'm running the scans now, I'll report back when done.
     
  4. NEOidea

    NEOidea New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, where do I find Start-up Repair on the OS disk? when I did the auto-run, it started to install Windows 7 again...

     
  5. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    You do not run it from w/in the OS. Put the OS disc in & reboot. Hit any key to boot from CD/ROM. Then hit Repair, instead of Install Now

    Drew
     
  6. NEOidea

    NEOidea New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I just put the disk in to try to run Start Up Repair, and I tried running the OS disk. That didn't work, so I switched back over to booting from the IDE Hard Drive, and it booted up fine... I don't know what happened. All the scans came out fine...

    Not going to try to fix something now that isn't broken.

    Thanks!

     
  7. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    No, no, of course not. That's great, if all's good then, terrific.

    Drew
     

Share This Page

Loading...