startup problems after installing windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by moreease, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. moreease

    moreease Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    This morning i installed w7. all fine until i restarted.

    after the windows is starting up (with the new icon) at the moment i should see the login page, the screen goes black. no mouse pointer no nothin'

    however sometimes i does work, but i'm not sure WHEN it works. i did all the startup repairs etc. nothing worked permanently. only after system restore it works ok, but then after the updates it wont restart. again it looks likes something is unstable since at one time it works and the other it won't.

    any ideas?
     
  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
  3. moreease

    moreease Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi thank you.

    I did that already but didn't work :(

    however one device is "unknown" wich i believe may be related to the issue

    the details say "ACPI\PNP006"
     
  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    I can have a look a the system to see what should be done. Type msinfo32 in the start menu then press enter. File | save on the opened screen. Zip the saved file then attach it to a post here.
     
  5. moreease

    moreease Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK here it is hopefully useful to you.

    I think you are a star already
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    First, extract my attachment and then go into the 32 folder of it. Double click the .exe to install it.

    Then boot to safe mode + networking and use this tool to remove AVG:

    AVG - Download tools

    Reboot and install MSE.

    heh Thanks for the compliment.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. moreease

    moreease Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did it and it worked. excellent.
    you're a star. so it was the avg-free?

    thanks a million!
     
  8. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Yes, AVG is on my personal "notorious" list. When I see it, and there are problems, it simply gotta go.

    Thanks again and you're welcome.
     
  9. moreease

    moreease Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    well. to early for cheers. problem stayed afterall :(
     
  10. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    I noticed your bios was old, so you'll want to go to ASUS' website for the motherboard to download and install the latest update.

    After doing that, unplug the machine from the wall for a few minutes. Then plug it back in and use normally.

    Just be sure not to lose power while actually updating the bios.

    Uninstall VTune if issues continue.
     
  11. moreease

    moreease Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think it may bee too old. cant find the driver. u any luck?
     
  12. moreease

    moreease Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    pfff can't sem to find a proper download. however i did fint a bin file wich might help. but where should i put it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...