strage problems with icons :(

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by hadi4u, Dec 17, 2009.

  1. hadi4u

    hadi4u New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    I have legal windows 7 & I had a problem with the activation, but I solved it already.

    The problem I am facing right now is with the icons…

    If I use my computer for long time I notice that any page I open in my computer doesn’t show the icons unless I use the (small icon) or (list)

    If I try to see icons in an extra large size or even large size I don’t see any of them & all I can see is the name of the icon.

    One more thing that if I stay long then I click on (computer) it doesn’t show any of my drivers or sometimes takes sooooo long for the green bar on top to finish then show me the icons

    All those problems go if I restart my computer

    Can anyone help me ASAP please??? L

    Hadi
     
  2. hadi4u

    hadi4u New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    no answer yet??? :(
     
  3. ronkundu

    ronkundu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any answer now? I'm having the exactly same issue.

    Thanks
    Ron
     
  4. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    I'm thinking:-
    1) Corrupt iconcache. Delete and re-boot. (C:\Users\Your User Name\AppData\Local). iconcache.db is, by default, a hidden file.
    2) Corrupt thumbs cache. Delete through Disk Clean Up. As above, re-boot.

    Note on the second option you may get the "green loading bar" behind/in the address bar as the cache is being rebuilt.

    My money is mainly on option 2, as large icons are actually the compressed png image installed as part of the icon, not an ico image.

    A third possibility (if third party software icon) is that the max size contained in the ico file is 48 x 48 pixels.
     
    #4 Elmer, Nov 30, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
  5. Windows7HelpGuy

    Windows7HelpGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure what your problem could be, but I think you've received a bad copy of windows 7 which is possible as it is software. As of right now, I don't know how to correct the error, but I'm looking into it for you!
     
  6. ronkundu

    ronkundu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Elmer

    Thanks a lot.
    I'll check with these 2 points. Currently I'm using picassa as explorer for picture & video files :). The problem is not coming in details or list views. So at least I can work if I don't choose iconic views.

    When the problem comes and slowly explorer started to hang, I need to shut it down. At the time of shutdown one msg comes very fast and then machine shut downs. I could not read it properly as it appears and disappears so fast. But seems to me there is something running and now it's forcefully shutting it down.
     
    #6 ronkundu, Dec 2, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  7. ronkundu

    ronkundu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    @
    Windows7HelpGuy

    Thanks a lot for the reply. It also may be the case that it's a bad copy as it comes with preloaded. In that case I'll try to reload it once again. But that's the last resort.
    Currently managing with picassa as the problem is for pictures & videos on iconic view.
     
  8. ronkundu

    ronkundu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    @elmer
    u r right on target. The option 2 was the cause. It's resolved now.
    Thanks again.

    Ron


     
  9. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Glad you got it sorted and Thanks for the feedback.
     

Share This Page

Loading...