Streaming Video Lag on Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by RhettRO55, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. RhettRO55

    RhettRO55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so heres the overall breakdown of the problem.

    Computer 1 Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
    Main desktop, games, music, TV shows.
    ASUS PN5-E SLI
    Core 2 Duo E7500 2.93 GHz
    4GB DDR2 800 Ram
    GeForce 8800 GTS
    320GB HD Main Drive
    320GB HD Games
    500GB HD Music
    1TB HD TV Shows

    Computer 2 Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
    Dell Inspiron E1505 Laptop
    Intel Centrino Duo 2.0 GHz
    1GB DDR2 266 Ram
    ATI Radeon Mobility X1300
    100GB HD

    Computer 3 Windows XP Media Center 2005 32 Bit
    Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.40 GHz
    2GB DDR2 800 Ram
    ATI Radeon HD2650 XT

    I recently swapped out motherboard, ram and CPU on computer 1 from an old config to the current setup previously stated.
    The tv shows drive hasnt changed from the old setup but now whenever I try to stream an episode of a TV show from this computer to ANY other computer, after a few seconds there is lag, it goes away and then comes back after anywhere from 30 secs to 1.5 mins. It happens whenever I try it on any other computer, Laptop, HTPC, other computers in the house etc. The desktop itself can play the videos fine with no problem whatsoever. They can even stream movies from the HTPC without any lag/problem whatsoever. This problem didnt exist whenever all PCs had windows XP installed (Laptop had media center, desktop had XP Pro and HTPC had/still has Media Center). I havent installed 7 yet on the HTPC for fear of the ffact that the problem may follow me there as well. I consider myself very savvy and able to fix almost all problems but I'm not sure what to do in this situation. I havent set up a homegroup yet because for some reason the functionality seems broken on the laptop, so I just made standard shares across my network. Any ideas/thoughts/inputs?? All hardware drivers have been updated to 7 verified 32/64 bit versions so I dont think that could be the problem.
     
  2. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Seems like more of a network problem. Have you tried power-cycling your router or changing it's channel?
    To power-cycle it, unplug or turn it off for 30 seconds and then plug it back in.
    To change it's channel, give us your router make and model.
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Short answer...........I would definitely put more RAM in
     
  4. RhettRO55

    RhettRO55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    We live somewhat out in the country and are on the very last rings of DSL capability so power cycling the router and modem is a daily if not every other hour-ly occurrence. Its a standard POS Westell provided by CenturyTel and the router is Linksys WRT54G standard.

    More ram than 4 gigs just to stream a TV episode? Even when it was working perfectly under XP with 2 gigs and a crappy AMD X2 cpu?? Im grateful for suggestions but that just seems a little out of the realm of reasonable.
     
  5. RhettRO55

    RhettRO55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    And it seems odd or it to be a network problem when the entire network was able to stream the videos the way I wanted to previously when the only change was the OS (more or less). Im just curious if there is somethhing I've missed as far as a config on the desktop.
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    More RAN,. on a 64-bit system,. yes
     

Share This Page

Loading...