svcHost is using 100% CPU - DcomLaunch / PlugAndPlay

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by belgianDentist, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. belgianDentist

    belgianDentist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just upgraded to Win7 from Vista.
    My CPU's are constantly 100% running svcHost.exe - DcomLaunch (PlugAndPlay?).
    Looked at various tips to no avail.
    Following tips did not help:
    http://blog.hansmelis.be/2007/06/17/windows-vista-long-delay-when-switching-songs-in-media-player/
    DComLaunch and WmiPrvSE.exe, DComLaunch and WmiPrvSE.exe makes CPU running high - Vista Forums
    I don't have Xperia software (that was another tip somewhere).
    Also ran various scanners on spyware and malware: PC seems not infected.
    Stopping/Suspending the services blocks or makes Windows crash (confirmed by other forums).

    What should I do?


    -
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,808
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi,
    I suspect your problem lies in the fact that you installed the os by 'upgrade' rather than a 'clean install' and we have had many posts similar to yours. The (usual) solution is to back-up what you can and perform a 'clean install'.
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    What are you using to check what is using the CPU time. If you want a more detailed view, you can use Process Explorer from Microsoft if you are not already using it. By right clicking on the processes (or mouse over) it will show what is running in each process.

    Have you tried turning off startup programs in MSconfig.exe?
     
  4. belgianDentist

    belgianDentist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you kidding?

    Restart this whole ****ing process from scratch?
    And lose hours with it before I recovered everything?
    I should be able to charge Microsoft for this.
    After all I buy computers to enjoy them, not suffer them.
    Throughout the years I've already accumulated a lot of Microsoft annoyance.
    Indeed I'm considering a scratch install... with Linux (and that's what my kids are telling me already for a long time).
     
    #4 belgianDentist, Mar 24, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,808
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hmm.. let's see, well you could back stuff up before hand onto say DVD or whatever and then perform the clean install which, if you know what your doing, takes all of 20minutes.
     
  6. R2D2

    R2D2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Are you kidding?

    Mann, I almost spit my coffee on the screen from laughing. :rofl:

    I know what you mean, when one spends money on something, it should work correctly from the beginning.
     

Share This Page

Loading...