SWAPPING MBs

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by BeanerECMO, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. BeanerECMO

    BeanerECMO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Current System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64) (build 7600)
    Install Language: English (United States)
    HP-Pavilion RK574AA-ABA a1730n
    Enclosure Type: Desktop / uATX
    Board: ASUSTek Computer INC. A8M2N-LA (NodusM3) 1.05
    Processor: 2.40 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    128 kilobyte primary memory cache
    512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    Multi-core (2 total)
    Not hyper-threaded
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT w/1GB VRAM

    I'm upgrading (of sorts) to:
    M4A78LT-M - uATX
    AM3 Phenom II X6 1055T (Six-Core)
    (Dual channel 4 DDR3 1800+ (O.C.) ; 8Gb RAM
    2.8GHz
    6 x 512KB L2 Cache
    6MB L3 Cache
    45nm
    125W
    HyperTransport technology
    Integrated memory controller
    AMD Virtualization
    64-Bit
    HDMI/DVI/RGB Interface Support
    ASUS EPU

    What I want to do is minimize reloading everything. Is it possible (reasonable, no-way José) to swap the MBs and fire it up without too much tinkering? They are both ASUS MBs. Could I clone and restore? Is that approach reasonable? Or, is it best to start cleanly? I do understand the issues re: licensing, etc. I will contact MS receive their 'blessing' one way or the other.
     
  2. Geralt

    Geralt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be 'possible' but you'll need to reinstall all the drivers, especially for the motherboard and on-board features, since it looks like the chipsets of the 2 boards are different. To prevent issues from cropping up down the line, I strongly suggest that you back up all your data and do a clean install on a freshly formatted HDD since this seems to be a major upgrade.

    Recently, I swapped out my Asus P8P67 mobo under the Intel Sandy Bridge recall scheme, but since the replacement mobo was exactly the same model (just a revision change), I was able to escape with no changes other than a reactivation of Windows, Office and a couple of games. Your case is slightly different.
     
  3. BeanerECMO

    BeanerECMO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. It was my conclusion as well. It's just so painstakingly slow; not even as good as watching paint dry. I' keep my data including the pst & rules and Norton 360 PWs & cards. Any other items?
     
  4. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    stuff like saving the bookmarks from your browsers, save games, any documents and pictures, steam games can be backed up to spare drive and restored with no fuss if you have it too. On the upside a reinstall will be much faster on the new hardware, I recently did a wipe to swap my OS to raid mode, and took about 15mins to reinstall and get back to useable state to get the windows updates etc on.
     
  5. BeanerECMO

    BeanerECMO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's always something - bookmarks. WRT games, fortunately I can download and install them again. All the other data are on a separate drive. I've been looking for the process to (somewhat) seamlessly transfer the OL 2010 rules. Do they come over with the outlook.pst (along with contacts, appointments, etc.)?
     
    #5 BeanerECMO, Apr 21, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...