Sysadmin denied ability to access functions.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Intrepid5295, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. Intrepid5295

    Intrepid5295 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have checked my user ID and it shows I have all permissions available to me as the administrator.
    When I r-click on desktop, and select Gadgets, I get a message only admin can access Gadgets.
    I have other issues, but I'd like to deal with them one at a time.
     
  2. TessieB

    TessieB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having the same problem. I found it when trying to help my mother with her PC. Some shorcuts on her desktop turned into file folders which listed the contents with the exec files, but the exec files didn't work. I made myself an admin with full permissions, but when I tried to change the file attributes, I got that admin problem message. I tried everything I could find and ended up wanting to throw her computer across the room.

    I don't know if the admin problem is related, but I read elsewhere that the hidden/moved files issue is caused by a virus.

    P.S. A few years ago I switched from a PC to a Mac & couldn't be happier.
     
  3. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    try


    start

    type cmd

    click cmd.exe

    in the black box that pops up type

    net user administrator /active:yes

    hit enter

    log off, you shouuld see another account Administrator, go to start, control panel, user accounts and family safety, user accounts, manage another account, ensure you have the account type set to administrator not standard
     
  4. TessieB

    TessieB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is going through the command prompt a "back door" or more certain method of setting accounts/permissions? I did go through control panel/user accounts/manage another account to add myself as a user.

    Thanks for your prompt reply!
     
  5. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    no, no backdoor is involved the command is a quicker way to show the hidden administrator account , this has full access to everythinf and able to change things on your main account that you use,

    you will need to run command promt as admin too ( right click , run as admin )
     

Share This Page

Loading...