System interrupts eating 100% of CPU

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by ottdude, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. ottdude

    ottdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Window 7 64 bit running on a Gigabyte GeForce 8200 motherboard with a AMD 4850e CPU.
    From time to time the CPU usage jumps to 100% and stays there no matter how many processes and services I kill. Checking the Resource Monitor in Task Manager shows that System Interrupts is using the entire CPU.

    Have someone else ran into this problem? Any ideas?

    Thank you
     
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Is this a new problem and do you use Comodo antivirus? They had a problem this week with a bad definition.
    Joe
     
  3. ottdude

    ottdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Joe for your response but it's not my case.
    For me it's happening when I use Grabit to download newsbins. I wonder if it is a driver problem. I restarted the computer in safe mode with networking and I used Grabit for a long period without any issues.
    When it's happening there are no threads consuming the CPU but checking the Resource Monitor it shwos the System Interrupts as the culprit.
    If it's a driver issue I wish I could determine which one is to blame.
     
  4. Tepid

    Tepid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    38
    I have seen this before in Vista.

    I unfortunately can not remember what the cause was,,, we did find one.

    This is most certainly Hardware or Driver related.

    It is difficult to tell you exactly where to start.
    I would probably start with Audio Drivers,,,, Get them from the manufacturer (get from Realtek if it is reatek, etc).

    I would then try video drivers

    The all other drivers and Chipset drivers

    Also run Hardware Diags
    Check Power Supply is not bad.... Take to a shop and have then use a PSU tester on it.
     
  5. ottdude

    ottdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for yout input Tepid.

    Right now I am trying different scenarios by disabling and enabling components in Device Manager.
    I am using a wireless usb adaptor to connect to the network and right now I disabled the motherboard LAN and the system is still holding. Only the time will tell me if this was the solution but I will let you know what I find.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. Tepid

    Tepid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes,, this will take a bit of trial and error.
     
  7. jgray59

    jgray59 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same situation...

    I have been experiencing the same problem. I have tried many things. I have tried both wireless usb and the network card. I can't transfer files to or from my Ipod either. Same problem. I even tried file down loads and transfers to both usb drives and internal drives. This is getting frustrating, as I have some large files that i wish to download.
     
  8. Tepid

    Tepid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    38
    That sounds like USB problems,.,.. That I would call Mobo (USB hardware problem to be specific) or drivers.
     
  9. ottdude

    ottdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    One week later, after playing with disabling all components, the problem still persists. I disabled all network adapters, video adapters, sound devices, tv tuners - nothing, the problem is still there.
    Hopefuly, once the windows 7 goes public, more people will run into this problem and somebody will have a look at it.
     
  10. CleoA

    CleoA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here

    I have had this problem recently, while disconnecting my wired lan. Seems to go away during reboot, and continuing to run on wireless only.

    I have a feeling it has to do with my Sun VirtualBox installation (allthough I disabled the VirtualBox Host-only connection), but any ideas or fix on this problem would be greatly appreciated.

    It could be a driver issue, as I am running mostly win7 drivers only on my HP 8710w.

    Otherwise Win7 runs great... really worth the upgrade from XP pro. Tried vista, but win7 really fixed a lot of issues for me.

    I will be checking in for a possible solution or fix (hopefully)...

    Cheers
    CleoA, Denmark
     

Share This Page

Loading...