System Restore Failed, BSOD

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Dave McKeen, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello! I am desperately trying to "train" my Windows 7 64-bit system to replace my aging (and last) XP system. It is giving me fits. I've been in here before describing how I gave up and reinstalled Windows (clean install) rather than "Update" because my SSD is too small to do the update.

    Yesterday I installed and ran Driver Genius 9 Professional to see if doing so would resolve some conflicts for me. Probably not the wisest thing to do. But I set a system restore point (cleverly named "daves") prior to doing the deed. As I'm sure you could have predicted, things got worse. I started getting the BSOD. After the second occurrence of the BSOD I attempted to restore the system back to "daves". On reboot, Windows had a cheery message for me:
    System restore did not complete successfully. Your computer system files and settings were not changed.
    Details:
    System restore failed to replace the file (C:\Windows) with its original copy from the restore point.
    An unspecified error occurred during System Restore. (0x80071a90)
    You can System Restore again and choose a different restore point. If you continue to see this error, you can try an advanced recovery method. For more information, see What is Recovery?
    I noted that the advanced recovery options are:
    * Restore files from a system image backup
    * Return Windows or your computer to original settings

    I tried to reset the system back to a more recent restore point and got the same restore failure.

    This is what lead me to reinstall Windows a week or so ago. Obviously there is something wrong other than the Windows installation.

    I ran Memtest86+ V4.10 for one full pass, about 45 minutes, with no errors. The video drivers are nVidia's modt recent.

    Any suggestions what I should do now?

    Thanks, - Dave

    ASUS P7P55 Deluxe
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad 750W, single 60A 12V rail
    Intel Core i7 860
    Corsair CMX8GX3M4A1600C9 (4 sticks x 2GB)
    ZOTAC ZT-98GES3M-FSL GeForce 9800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
    Drive0 (OS) OCZ SSD Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTX50G 50GB
    Drive1 HITACHI UltraStar A7K2000 0F10452 2TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
    Drive2 (Apps, pagefile, misc.) OCZ SSD Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTX50G 50GB
    1394 board Rosewill RC-502 NEC 3+1 1394a PCI
    1394b board Koutech 4-port 1394a/b PCIe x1
    DVD Drive Plextor PLX-850A-19 IDE S/N 310907400763
    CF Reader FireWire Sandisk Extreme Pro ExpressCard Adapter
    CF Card Sandisk Extreme IV 4GB 45MB/s UDMA
    Monitor NEC LCD2190 UXi LCD 'twist' tech.
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
     
  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hey Dave.

    We can try to get this straightened out for ya. The first thing is that if you have any utilities or applications from ASUS, uninstall them.

    You can post the actual crash dumps and this will go a long way to figuring out what problems are. To do so:

    Go to C:\Windows\Minidump to copy and paste the files from there to any other folder. Then zip the files. Attach the the zip to a post using the paperclip above where you type, in advanced mode reply. We shall see what needs to be done.

    And yes, driver update programs are always a bad idea.
     
  3. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi TorrentG,

    Thanks for being there!! Here is the ZIPped-up Minidump files (3 in there). I ran HijackThis but it stopped with an error. A JPG of the error message is attached along with the partial log. I wanted to run the latest Housecall but its download stalled. I ran the latest Malwarebytes (v1.46, database 4363) which turned up no malicious items.

    Um- I did uninstall Sunbelt Software CounterSpy from my main PC (that I'm desperate to replace) but it's still on the PC we're diagnosing now. I can uninstalled here as well.

    Let me know what you find!

    Thanks again, - Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh- and I think I already had all Asus apps/utilities off of this PC. I don't recognize any in the Programs and Features control panel. I got the Housecall scan done with no threats found.

    - Dave
     
  5. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Hello and Welcome !

    Seems like Zone Alarm is casing the problem. I would recommend to uninstall it and use the removal tool to clean the left over entries. You could install Microsoft security essentials instead.

    BSOD vs. Internet Security !!

    Code:
    fffff880`02f6ade8 fffff800`02ad7b69 : 00000000`0000007f 00000000`00000008 00000000`80050031 00000000`000006f8 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff880`02f6adf0 fffff800`02ad6032 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiBugCheckDispatch+0x69
    fffff880`02f6af30 fffff800`02ae2af0 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+0xb2 (TrapFrame @ fffff880`02f6af30)
    fffff880`02f86fe0 fffff800`02addca7 : fffff880`02f871a0 fffff880`02f871c0 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000000 : nt!SepMandatoryIntegrityCheck+0xf0
    fffff880`02f87060 fffff800`02aa0f02 : fffffa80`0a5af970 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`07e897c8 : nt!SeAccessCheckWithHint+0x317
    fffff880`02f87140 fffff880`01594c5a : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!SeAccessCheckFromState+0x102
    fffff880`02f87830 fffff880`0159294f : 00000000`c0000022 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : NETIO!CompareSecurityContexts+0x6a
    fffff880`02f878a0 fffff880`015949b5 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : NETIO!MatchValues+0xef
    fffff880`02f878f0 fffff880`01594845 : fffffa80`0a0c08f0 fffffa80`0a265540 fffff880`02f87b18 fffff880`02f88250 : NETIO!FilterMatch+0x95
    fffff880`02f87940 fffff880`01595ccb : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff880`02f88250 fffff880`02f87b00 : NETIO!IndexListClassify+0x69
    fffff880`02f879c0 fffff880`0163f4d0 : fffff880`02f88250 fffff880`02f87e98 fffff880`02f88bd0 fffffa80`09f91970 : NETIO!KfdClassify+0xa4e
    fffff880`02f87d30 fffff880`0163877e : fffff880`01747690 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`09c300d0 00000000`00000000 : tcpip!WfpAleClassify+0x50
    fffff880`02f87d70 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : tcpip!WfpAlepAuthorizeSend+0x9
    
        Loaded symbol image file: NETIO.SYS
        Mapped memory image file: C:\Symbols\NETIO.SYS\4A5BC18A60000\NETIO.SYS
        Image path: \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\NETIO.SYS
        Image name: NETIO.SYS
        Timestamp:        Tue Jul 14 04:51:46 2009 (4A5BC18A)
        CheckSum:         0005F36C
        ImageSize:        00060000
        File version:     6.1.7600.16385
        Product version:  6.1.7600.16385
        File flags:       0 (Mask 3F)
        File OS:          40004 NT Win32
        File type:        3.6 Driver
        File date:        00000000.00000000
        Translations:     0409.04b0
        CompanyName:      Microsoft Corporation
        ProductName:      Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
        InternalName:     netio.sys
        OriginalFilename: netio.sys
        ProductVersion:   6.1.7600.16385
        FileVersion:      6.1.7600.16385 (win7_rtm.090713-1255)
        FileDescription:  Network I/O Subsystem
        LegalCopyright:   © Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    
    
    Hope this helps,
    Captain
     
  6. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Captain Jack,

    Thanks for your analysis and the resources. I'll be getting back to the miscreant tomorrow afternoon and will experiment. I did uninstall CounterSpy on the subject PC. Windows threw a fit saying it wanted a firewall (even though I have the venerable ZoneAlarm on the system) and offered Windows Defender. Now it is as happy as a clam. When I uninstall and remove all remnants of ZA-AV and install MSE do I then turn off Defender?

    - Dave
     
  7. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Nope. Leave Windows Defender running. Also when on the services page, set Windows Firewall to automatic start.
     
  8. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi TorrentG,

    I have Defender enabled. I don't see the Services page with an option to set Windows Firewall to automatic start. Gan you point me in the right direction?

    The options in Windows Firewall are daunting! I'm under so much stress with two PC giving me fits that my brain is jello. I'm spoiled by the ZA firewall that offers to "learn" for a specified period then locks things down based on a couple of user-operated sliders. It gives me a warm and fuzzy "You are protected. You do not have to do anything" message. I clicked on a few help screens in Windows Firewall and felt as overwhelmed as I would be if I were responsible for knowing the meaning of everything in a prospectus for a family of mutual funds. Is there a simple step-by-step for the (nearly) brain dead?

    I have ZA shut down and set to not start when Windows starts. Is the file I have attached the most recent procedure for completely wiping ZA off of a system?

    (By the way, in the forum File Upload Manager, how do I delete old items from the Home pane?)

    I am ready to install Microsoft Security Essentials. The EXE I downloaded is mssefullinstall-amd64fre-en-us-vista-win7.exe. Does that look right for an Intel-based system? The "amd64" part has me worried.

    Thanks again, - Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
  10. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello!

    Yesterday evening I was using Photoshop on the subject PC to retouch six files. When I finished I closed all apps preparing to shut down Windows. At that point I got a Blue Screen. Restarted the PC and chose the option to send the data to Microsoft. While the send was in progress I got the BSOD again and just shut down the computer. The minidumps are attached.

    This morning I used cpes_clean.exe to completely remove Zone Alarm Anti Virus. When the PC was supposed to restart, Windows hung "Shutting Down". I did a hardware reset, chose Start Normally and got the expected challenge to allow the ZA cleaner to finish its job. I installed MSE, did a scan, and it is happily protecting the PC.

    I ran HijackThis v2.0.4 successfully. The log is attached.

    I'll appreciate any suggestions of what to look for next. In the meantime I have a Photoshop retouching job I will do on the subject PC and see how the system behaves.

    Thanks, - Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  11. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    ZoneAlarm's and its integrated antivirus Kaspersky's files are still present. You truthfully want to know the best way to solve this issue?


    Install this release of ZoneAlarm. I'm running it and it's brand new. It isn't going to crash your system and you'll be fine. The version you had was old from 2009. Installing this will overwrite the files we need to get rid of anyhow, and you'll also be able to continue running ZoneAlarm. If it asks you to upgrade install, choosing yes will be fine.

    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security Release History - ZoneAlarm by Check Point - Award winning PC Protection, Antivirus, Firewall, Anti-Spyware, Identity Protection, and much more.

    If you do so, then it is recommended to remove MSE since you don't want two antivirus utilities running. You can uninstall MSE normally if that's what you choose.
     
    #11 TorrentG, Jul 29, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  12. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still present? So much for the cleanup tool. And I did verify on the ZA site that cpes_clean.exe was the tool to use. I did some retouching work in Photoshop for several hours today on the subject PC with MSE still installed. I didn't get any BSOD. This PC is a hot mama! (Considering no overclocking.) I am anxious to make it my main computer.

    OK, back to ZA/Kaspersky. Rather than Extreme I have been using the basic ZA-AV. (It's already paid for- on four computers!) On the comparison chart it looks like it should do what I want. I have zaAvSetup_91_603_000_en.exe ready to install. Is that what you are already seeing on my PC? Once I'm sure I'm doing the right thing I'll do the deed.

    I still have to test if System Restore will work. If it doesn't I'll need to run some more diagnostics. I'll set a restore point before I uninstall MSE then see if I can do a restore.

    - Dave
     
  13. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
    I still see ZA installed. Please run this tool again: http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/support/cpes_clean.exe

    Kaspersky should be removed as well: http://support.kaspersky.com/downloads/utils/kavremover10.zip

    ...Summary of the Dumps:
    Code:
    [font=lucida console]
    Built by: 7600.16539.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100226-1909
    Debug session time: Wed Jul 28 23:54:16.766 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:01:29.427
    BugCheck 7F, {8, 80050031, 6f8, fffff80002a7dca2}
    Probably caused by : NETIO.SYS ( NETIO!CompareSecurityContexts+6a )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x7f_8
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
    Built by: 7600.16539.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100226-1909
    Debug session time: Wed Jul 28 23:51:01.553 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 5:55:22.062
    BugCheck 7F, {8, 80050031, 6f8, fffff80002a95af0}
    Probably caused by : NETIO.SYS ( NETIO!CompareSecurityContexts+6a )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x7f_8
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
      
      
     
    [/font]
     
  14. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Jonathan! I will run the tools to clean out ZA and Kaspersky, but Moderator TorrentG suggests reinstalling ZoneAlarm Antivirus. I'm for whatever works. I just want to bring this PC on line as my main. (It's kind of urgent since my current main has its own problems.)

    I have a suspicion something else is going on. Before running the cleanup tools I'll set a System Restore point then after running the tools I'll run System Restore back to that point. When I initially built the computer Restore would fail. After I did a clean reinstall of windows Restore continues to fail. I just want to see if it's still doing that.

    - Dave
     
  15. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Being a mod, in my opinion at least, doesn't give my posts any greater value than others.

    I really think it's up to you to decide what you want to do, since you paid for ZA. I can say, with a fair amount of confidence, that if you install the newest version available for the product you have, it will be fine.

    Use the ZA removal tool in safe mode, if you'd like to completely uninstall it instead.
     
  16. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set a system restore point a few minutes ago.

    Then I ran both the ZA and Kaspersky removal tools in safe mode. The ZA tool completed without comment but the Ka tool said it didn't detect any Kaspersky files.

    I did a system restore. On reboot I got a dialog saying that restore had failed. 0x80071a90.

    MSE is still installed.

    When I had my first installation of windows on this PC system restore would not complete successfully. Now it fails after a clean install of Windows. Does this indicate a hardware problem? Is there a diagnostic I can run? System restore failure is repeatable, so hopefully the cause can be nailed down.

    I noticed in the Safe Mode menu an option to "Repair this computer." Should I run it?

    If i have to install Windows again I can't use Update because of my small SSD size. I have a Western Digital WD740ADFD Raptor available. Can I make an image of what's on my SSD onto the Raptor then run update from there? Or since 80 GB SSDs are available now at what I paid for my 50 GB model I could get one of those and transfer the system to it. What is the most practical thing to do?

    Should I start a new thread, referring back to this one?

    - Dave
     
    #16 Dave McKeen, Jul 30, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2010
  17. Dave McKeen

    Dave McKeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gang, I'm "fattening up" (installing applications/utilities on) the subject PC with the goal of making it my main computer. No BSODs since last reported. I installed something simple (Xenu HTML Link Checker) after setting a restore point. A restore completed successfully. I have Office 2007 installed and am about to make the switch. It's always exciting. =:0

    I'll start a new thread if anything comes up. Thanks for the help!!!

    - Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...