System Restore Problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by lpollane, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. lpollane

    lpollane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I amrunning Win7 Ultimate. When I try to do a Systm Restore, it seems to run to completion, reboots the system and then issues the following message:

    "System Restore did not complete successfully. Your computer's system files and settings were not changed.

    System Restore could not access a file. This is probably because an anti-virus program is running on the computer. Temporarily disable your antivirus program and retry System Restore.
    An unspecified error occurred during System Restore: (0X80070005)"

    When I disable my Norton antiVirus program and retry, the same thing happens.

    I would appreciate any advice as to where I should start looking for a solution to this problem.

    Thanks.
     
  2. jrwalsh1

    jrwalsh1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the exact same problem, same error, same antivirus program.
     
  3. jrwalsh1

    jrwalsh1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found a solution. As I thought, it was that pesky anti-virus software hiding something, and thinking it always knows best... grr.
    Despite turning off everything in the initial norton menu you must also click "Settings" and then click "Miscellaneous Settings" then under product security, you have to turn off "Norton Product Tamper Protection." I was then able to do a successful system restore without having to completely uninstall my anti-virus software. Hope this helps.
     
  4. RoadKill

    RoadKill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    woo my first post and i think i can help here

    if you boot from your Windows 7 disc and go to repair instead of install
    you will get the option to restore back to a restore point like you do in windows

    let me know how you get on ;)
     
  5. lpollane

    lpollane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tip. It worked.:)
     
  6. Oiktfp

    Oiktfp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Solution from jrwalsh1 worked for me although directions was a bit different for Norton 360.: settings>administrative settings>under "Product Security" turn off "Norton Product Tamper protection". I also had the anti virus turned off (auto protect). Norton took awhile to get it's act back together after the restore.

    Thanks jrwalsh1.
     

Share This Page

Loading...