Task bar Icons, Show up twice when opened?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by supaafly, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. supaafly

    supaafly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just reformatted my W7. For some reason on my tasktbar, when I open a program lets say AIM, the icon will show up twice. Or Photoshop, it shows up twice. Screenshot below:

    http://i40.tinypic.com/t5qh6a.png
    [​IMG]

    But it never used to do that. And some programs like Firefox, do not, or MSN.
    When I launch a program from the taskbar, I want the icon to just get highlighted, not open another icon. Help!
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Welcome to win7forums. :)

    It is up to software developers to fix this. In time they will. There is not much to do about it right now.
     
  3. supaafly

    supaafly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    But the thing is it never used to do this. If i clicked a taskbar icon to open, it would highlgiht the icon, not open another icon to the right
     
  4. swimmer33

    swimmer33 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. mrsvonboo

    mrsvonboo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    When you have both icons in the bar unpin the original icon, then right-click the newly spawned icon, and pin it to the taskbar. You can then move the new pinned item to any location in your task bar. Now you shouldn't get two. To check close the programme and then click on the icon see if that has resolved the issue. Worked for me :rolleyes3:
     
    OMEGASAM87 likes this.
  6. OMEGASAM87

    OMEGASAM87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This solved the problem for me, THANKS!
     

Share This Page

Loading...