Task BAr Thumbnails in windows classic

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by BriniaSona, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. BriniaSona

    BriniaSona New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love the taskbar preview feature aero has but i hate that aero eats cpu and ram. I want the taskbar preview to have the little picture that show up when you hold the mouse over the taskbar button

    anyone know how.
     
  2. dre@ms

    dre@ms New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you disable Aero, the thumbnail taskbar preview also gets disabled.
     
  3. BriniaSona

    BriniaSona New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that. I wanna know if there is anyway to override it.
     
  4. dre@ms

    dre@ms New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    2
    I meant to say, no AFAIK
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    This is quite ol, so I don't know if oy will work in Windows 7

    I think I've found it. Hope it helps others with the same problem. I right-clicked on the folder, chose diable Thumbanil View in properties, then went to View>FolderOptions, clicked the View tab and unchecked

    Show file attributes in Detail View, refreshed and it worked.


    I went back to the drive properties and noticed the folder had the Read-Only attribute checked whereas before it didn't.

    So I removed it all, right-clicked on the folder, chose Enable Thumbnail View and thewn checked the Read-Only attribute, refreshed and it worked.
    I tried this a few times, but for some reason when I check Enable Thumbnail View, a check will not automatically be added to the Read-Only attribute.

    So as long as both boxes are checked it works correctly.
    reghak
     
  6. dre@ms

    dre@ms New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cool m8!!! Haven't tried. But may be the thread starter can do and revert back.

    BTW, is this a workaround provided by MS or a flaw?
     

Share This Page

Loading...