Taskbar issue

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Wout000, May 25, 2009.

  1. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Have you taken a look at the link I posted? Did it help at all? ;)
     
  2. Wout000

    Wout000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    IE was just the program i tried to pin to the taskbar.
    tried pinning shortcut from desktop... doesn't work.

    I now have 2 pinned programs, which are 'libraries' and 'WMP' I didn't accidentally delete those.... deleted IE from the taskbar...never got it back (or any other program for that matter ;(
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Sorry, misinterpreted that.
     
  4. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    If you are in the position to format and reinstall, I'd try that.:confused:
     
  5. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Agreed, I was going to suggest that but from what he said it didn't sound like that was an option.. ;) I really don't think this is a bug, a glitch maybe, but not a bug..
     
  6. Wout000

    Wout000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Radenight, your previous post (with the link) got me thinking.... I did remove the arrow from the shortcuts...

    So i followed the instructions...didn't work, i thought... let's try it manually and bingo presto, 30 minutes of fiddleing later and about a dozen reboots it works !!!

    thanks for all the help, time and advice everyone gave me .... thank you all !
     
  7. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Sweet! I'm glad you finally got it.. :) And without having to resort to a reinstall.. ;)
     
  8. Wout000

    Wout000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    This does raise an entire new support topic though...

    using .reg files in Windows 7 doesn't work.... at all !
     
  9. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Radenight,

    NICE call!!!

    Wout000,

    I found the answer why reg files are not working correctly in Windows 7.

    You need to save the file in Notepad, and choose ANSI as the format.

    Works consistently for me.
     
  10. Wout000

    Wout000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    excellent, works like a charm

    thanks all !
     
  11. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Same to you my friend.. ;) I'd say we covered all angles of this problem very well.. At least if someone else runs into the same problem, they should be able to get it solved with all the suggestions in this thread alone! :)

    EXCELLENT JOB to everyone who was involved with this thread! :)
     
  12. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Thanks to this thread I found out that I could remove the arrows from my desktop icons without using a Tweak?i program. I never did like the looks of them little boogers. I thought I'd have to wait til PowerToys for Windows 7 came out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...