The default gateway is not available

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by David Horntvedt, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    For about a month or so ago, my internet connection started disconnecting randomly, and often several times a day. I have been using 7 in over a year now (never had this problem), and, as far as i know i am the only one having this problem in my family. it is only on my stationary comp i have this problem, not any of the 3 laptops or the other stationary with win7 installed. I have seen several other posts on this error, but most of them are over a year old, and the rest is for networking programs..

    plz help me! i cant stand disconnecting anymore >.<
     
    #1 David Horntvedt, Dec 17, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Hello David and welcome to the forums.
    You haven't provided much for us to go on in your post and there isn't any system specs on your profile page. The problem could be any of a number of things, from the actual physical devices and there connections to third party software causing your issues. So if you can provide some additional information regarding the network (wireless, or wired) adapter manufacturer, model name, model number and Rev# we may be able to help further. And if you would like us to take a more indepth look you could provide us a zipped copy of your system information utility.
    Type
    msinfo32 into the search box and hit enter
    On the menu bar select file->save
    give it a name and save it to your desktop.
    Zip it up and attach it to your next post and we'll try to see if we can determine what might be causing the problem.
     
  3. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is actually the first time i need help from forum for my pc... therefore i didnt kno what to include and this is also why i prefer the "indebt" option ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    • sys.zip
      File size:
      133.8 KB
      Views:
      402
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Two quick things to try first
    Go here Realtek
    download this driver "Win7 and WinServer 2008 R2 Driver 7.031 2010/11/22 608k" to a folder of your choice on your computer and extract it.
    Open device manager and force a driver update. Expand network adapter, right click Realtek adapter and choose update driver software, then Browse, then let me pick, then have disk, then browse to folder where you put the extracted drivers.
    Second open the services console
    type services.msc into the search box and hit enter
    look for either of these two things
    bonjour service, if present double click it set the startup type to disabled and stop it
    or
    a strange ID string that looks something like this
    ##Id_String1.6844F930_1628_4223_B5CC_5BB94B879762##
    same thing if there double click, set startup type to disable and stop it.
    Reboot and see if that helps.
     
    #4 Trouble, Dec 17, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  5. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    done the steps and rebooting now ^^ if im not disconnecting for a couple of days ill let u know, if i do ill let u know right away
     
  6. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    it happened again...
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Sorry, missed your follow-up. Open services console
    type
    services.msc into search box and hit enter
    scroll as needed to IP Helper
    double click set startup type to manual and stop it.
    See if that helps at all, if not, consider temporarily completely uninstalling Norton 360 (you can replace it with MSE immediately) or wait a while and if it doesn't seem to have improved the problem you can re-install it then.
    Keep us posted
     
  8. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks! i will ;)
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  10. Abod Madani

    Abod Madani New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem here and its really annoying, i updated realtek as you said but couldn't find those from the services console :(
    can i have some help here??

    "by the way I think this problem occurs when someone start a big download (torrent for example) couse it never happen when no one except me using the internet"
     
  11. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    well... i uninstalled norton and all that.. but it happened again today -.- i just hope i found all the strings uve mentioned.. one or two of them i couldnt find
     
  12. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is still happening, mostly when im gaming, but also other times.. please help :S
     
  13. Abod Madani

    Abod Madani New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i used to have the same problem as i said before but i solved it ,i share internet with other guys and i figured that one of them is using a program NETCUT to turn of the internet on me so i downloaded antinetcut it makes me know who cutting the internet then i faced him and made him stop using this program, you may have the same problem as me so i posted this.

    good luck
     
  14. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    im still living at home.. and i doubt my dad would do that -.- but thx for sharing, ill install it and c ^^
     
  15. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm... the net is still falling out.. i've forgot to uptate.. sry for that, but as i said the problem persists and i would be grateful if any1 could solve it :)
     
  16. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    attach another copy of msinfo32 (zip it up) to your next post and we'll have another look. Remind me again, is the problem wired or wireless or both?
     
  17. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is on wired on my main comp, but i have a sort of the same problem with the wireless on my xp.. havent bothered checking if it is default gateway on that though... it is only my main comp and my xp laptop which have that problem.. my dad is running 7 on hi stationary upstairs, and i dont think he has the same problem. mu sister is running xp on a statonary using wireless without the problem, and out 3 laptops using wireless with win 7 doesnt have t hat problem eighter
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    First of all, you are currently using this driver for your RealTek adapter (c:\windows\system32\drivers\rt64win7.sys (7.23.623.2010, 336,60 KB (344 680 bytes), 23.06.2010 10:10))
    and you should be using this one (c:\windows\system32\drivers\rt64win7.sys (7.37.1229.2010, 403.10 KB (412,776 bytes), 1/25/2011 8:57 PM)) here and
    Download this (Win7 and WinServer 2008 R2 Driver 7.037 2011/1/24) to a folder of your choice on your computer and extract it
    Open device manager and force a driver update. Expand network adapter, right click Realtek adapter and choose update driver software, then Browse, then let me pick, then have disk, then browse to folder where you put the extracted drivers.
    Reboot.
    Type ncpa.cpl into the search or run dialog box and hit enter. Select, then right click the Realtek adapter and choose properties. Uncheck "Internet Protocol Version 6". Select "Internet Protocol Version 4" and click the properties button. Select the radio button "Use the following IP address:"
    enter the following
    IP address: 192.168.0.222
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway: 192.158.0.1
    Select the radio button "Use the following DNS server addresses:
    Preferred: 81.167.36.3
    Alternate: 81.167.36.11
    click OK->Close.
    Open device manager and from the view menu select "Show hidden devices", expand Network adapters and uninstall anything associated with the following terms "isatap" "6to4" and "toredo tunneling" Don't worry anything that you uninstall that may be needed will be auto-installed upon reboot.
    Reboot.
    If this process does nothing to help your issue then we will probably need to see if your router vendor has a firmware update for your device that might address some issues specific to Windows 7. Also if it produces any unintended problems return to the IPv4 properties of your network adapter and return everything to auto by selecting the two radio buttons that say "Obtain Automatically" (IP and DNS)
     
  19. David Horntvedt

    David Horntvedt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks a lot :) after the 2nd reboot i had no connection at all, but a quick troubleshoot fixed the problem... i'll c if the fix works properly, and i'll keep u posted if it happens again, or if it doesn't i'll be back in a couple of days saying that :p
     
  20. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    One other thing you may also want to try, which has helped others with at least similar issues is to make sure that the MAC address is present in your network adapater's properties.
    So type ncpa.cpl into the search or run dialog box and hit enter. Select then right click the Realtek adapter and choose properties then click the "Configure" Button near the top right
    Select the "Advanced" tab and in the Left column "Property:" box select "Network Address"
    In the right column change radio button from "Not Present" to the other which will allow you to input a value. Copy and paste this into the box
    002618683E88
    and OK your way back out of there and reboot again.
    Again if any unintended or unexpected problems are produced then just go back and set it to not present. This is the actual (Physical) MAC address of your network adapter unique to only your particular adapter and other's have noted that performing these extra steps have helped in similar situations. Maybe it will help here it certainly won't hurt to try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...