Three main problems in Win7 RC...

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by daxius, Oct 4, 2009.

  1. daxius

    daxius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have three problems with Win7, and am hoping you all can help me:

    #1 My computer will not complete a manual shutdown. The power does not turn off. This is even weirder due to problem number 2. (Asus "tweaked" motherboard. Looks like an Asus problem, anyone know a fix?)

    #2 if left Idle, (say, overnight) the computer will randomly power itself down completely, shutting everything off. after a while it will suddenly turn everything back on and continue like nothing happened. Power management is turned off completely. *update* seems to be a disk controller problem with the HD trying to sleep or hibernate, not fixed, just disabled.

    #3 randomly on bootup, the network card refuses to work. This only started a few weeks ago. it'll find the network, but refuses to talk to the internet unless I disable the card then re-enable it. *Update* I rolled back the network card driver, and no longer have this problem. the problem seems to be in the latest version of the NIC driver.
     
    #1 daxius, Oct 4, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2009
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Daxius,
    first, two questions for ya...
    Did you install 7 by either upgrade or fresh install? If you upgraded, try a fresh install.

    Also when you burnt the 7 iso, how fast did you burn it at? Any faster than 4x leads to problems..

    If the above don't help any, please post back including system details..

    :)
     
  3. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    You have hardware driver problems. First, I would recomment a clean install (as kemical said) if you have upgraded from Vista or whatever. The final version is floating around on the torrents... it's to late to go use RC.

    To see specifically what's hanging up, run Event Viewer and look under the Administrator logs under Custom Views.


    The internet connection problems is happening to lots and lots of people who are connected via a router. You can fiddle around with your comuter and windows settings and maybe get it to reconnect but it's much easier to just reboot your router. Unplug it for a few seconds... then when you plug it back in it will connect without needing to reboot your computer.
     
  4. BoltsRUs

    BoltsRUs New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    My issue was very similar to this-the PC would not shut down (Asus Crosshair I). While it seems hardware related I couldn't shut it down without holding the pwr switch. It's a clean install. The odd thing is that my mobo died yesterday. I replaced it with a new Asus M4A79 with the Phenom II 965. Without any changes to the other hardware, the PC now shuts down fine. I suspect it has something to do with the mobo setup.
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Alls well that ends well...:)

    Thanks for updating Bolts..
     
    #5 kemical, Oct 4, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2009
  6. daxius

    daxius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Install was done on a clean partition, creating a multi-boot with XP. I'm using the RC, 7100 with a serial number entered, and all current patches.

    I have no idea what speed the ISO was burnt at, as a friend burnt the disk. I never got around to installing a burner. However, the install has been running for 3-4 months solid, where the network problem only cropped up about 2-3 weeks ago. I just disable and enable the NIC to fix it each time. Yes, I am running through a router.

    I know some things about my computer, but not very advanced, really. how do I run event viewer under win7, and is there an easy way to pull out my system specs?
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  8. daxius

    daxius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    System Specs:

    MB: Asus P5B-E
    DualCore Pentium E2140 @1600MHz
    2Gig ram
    Geforce 8500 GT
    Atheros L1 Gigabit ethernet (built onto MB)
    Razer Barracuda AC-1 audio card


    Event Viewer is showing : The driver detected a controller error on \Device\Harddisk1\DR3.
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I wonder what caused it to start acting up? Anyway, do you have a 'Restore point' you could go back to?

    Also here is your motherboards web page.. ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

    Check to see if any updates (bios or otherwise) are available.
     
  10. daxius

    daxius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll have to get my friend over, I'm comfortable doing a lot, but updating a bios...not gonna risk it flying solo.

    No restore point, it just randomly occured once about a day or so after an update to the OS, and seems to be growing gradually more common. (network problem)

    I just dug deep and double checked and/or turned off every possible power feature for disabling my hard disks, gonna see if that affects the idle shutdown / crash / reboot problem.
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  12. patrickt

    patrickt Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had problem number one. I went to the BIOS, set it to defaults, problem went away.

    Problem number two might be related to the same issue as problem one.
     
  13. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Sorry if I'm butting in here to ask my own question. It's just that what I read here brought it up. Does "System Restore" roll back device drivers?
     
    #13 stueycaster, Oct 5, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2009
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hmm.. I guess it would if the original drivers were in place when the shadow copy was made?
     

Share This Page

Loading...