trash can is too full

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by TALLY, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. TALLY

    TALLY New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have sort of a weird problem. I was clearing out my Temp folder in my AppData folder and I kind of got carried away. Before I knew it, I had over 60,000 objects in my recycle bin. I have a decent computer with 4 GB of RAM, but every time I try to recycle, windows explorer freezes. Ive tried deleting the files by the 1000, but there has to be another way.

    So, my question is, is there a way for me to delete all 60,000 files from my recycle bin at once?
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Have you tried right clicking the recycle bin and choosing "empty recycle bin"
    Hope there's nothing important in there.:)
     
  3. TALLY

    TALLY New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, my mouse just turns into the little waiting symbol and then an option to end process comes up.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You may be able to use some third party programs, which have as a part of their processes, cleaning the recycle bin.
    I believe Ccleaner as well as ATF cleaner by atribune, both will do this. There may be and probably are quite a few others.
     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If still no joy
    Click start orb, all programs, accessories, right click command prompt and choose run as administrator
    type cd\ and hit enter
    at the C:> prompt type rd /s c:\$recycle.bin and hit enter
    you should then be challenged with a "Are you sure <Y/N> type Y and hit enter
    you may have to reboot or refresh your desktop, I didn't but it won't hurt
    see if that helps
     
  6. TALLY

    TALLY New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason command prompt isnt in my Accessories folder anymore and when I search for it, its not there. Do you know another place it might be?

    Oh yeah, I accidentally deleted my Administrative Tools, so if it is in there, it is gone. BTW do you know where I can download my windows 7 admn tools again? I really dont want to use my bootdisk.
     
  7. TALLY

    TALLY New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL I cant believe I forgot how to bring up a command prompt. Its been a long day. Thanks a million for the help. :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...