Triple Boot issue?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by fight2fight, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    i wanted to give windows 7 ago, and before i installed windows 7 i had dual boot running all fine, like installed XP, and vista later on,

    but when i installed windows 7 it doesn't show in the boot up menu only Xp and vista, but if i go into the bios setting and change which hard drive to boot first and swap it, windows 7 boots straight in,

    now before i installed windows 7, i partition a drive from my vista HDD and installed windows 7 on that??

    now all i need is how do i get windows 7 showing up in the boot menu along with XP & Vista??

    and i tried using vistaboot pro but i get error messages, and i also tried something else, that windows 7 will show in the boot up menu if the disc is in the drive before boot up?? very weird...


    thanks
     
  2. Ed Dixon

    Ed Dixon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    3
    All three show in my boot window today, along with a 4th for W7 64 bit. Each is installed to a different partition.

    I also use a product called BING from terabyteunlimited which may be helpful.

    Ed
     
  3. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi,

    Boot into Vista.

    Open an elevated command prompt and type : (press enter after each command)

    bcdedit /copy {current} /d "Windows 7"

    It will return a new {GUID}.

    Use that , including the brackets in these commands:

    bcdedit /set {your-new-GUID_here} device partition=D:

    bcdedit /set {your-new-GUID_here} osdevice partition=D:

    Replace D: with the letter of partition 7 is installed on.

    Hope it helps
     
  4. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the relpy,

    but i don't get that command?

    like what do you mean? like i have to type the whole thing?

    like i type bcdedit , then a log shows up for the boot loader?

    from here i get lost??

    sorry..
     
  5. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Type each line before pressing enter.

    Like this:

    C:\Windows\system32>bcdedit /copy {current} /d "WIN 7"
    The entry was successfully copied to {4f91599b-905b-11de-8234-001966657855}.

    C:\Windows\system32>bcdedit /set {4f91599b-905b-11de-8234-001966657855} device partition=E:
    The operation completed successfully.

    C:\Windows\system32>bcdedit /set {4f91599b-905b-11de-8234-001966657855} osdevice partition=E:
    The operation completed successfully.

    C:\Windows\system32>

    That's it.
     
    #5 SIW2, Aug 27, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2009
  6. Ed Dixon

    Ed Dixon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    3
    EasyBCD 1.7.2 is way easier for these actions. Its all point and click.

    Ed
     
  7. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    im so confused,

    you really need to break it down for me..

    like i got to cmd run it in admin

    then i type bcdedit then enter...

    now when i try to type /copy

    i get error....


    sorry dude...
     
  8. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    That's because you typed /f instead of /d.
     
  10. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    didnt you tell me to replace D with the letter of my partition drive??

    or i only do that for the next ones?
     
  11. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got the first one to work but this is what i get after i try to get the second working???

    View attachment 2000
     
  12. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    That's the capital D followed by a colon , like this D: ,which is here:

    bcdedit /set {your-new-GUID_here} device partition=D:

    bcdedit /set {your-new-GUID_here} osdevice partition=D:

    Replace D: with the letter of partition 7 is installed on.

    The /d is nothing to do with drive letters - it means description

    bcdedit /copy {current} /d "Windows 7"

    I think you may find it easier getting the free Easybcd to do it for you- install it on Vista:

    http://neosmart.net/downloads/software/EasyBCD/EasyBCD%201.7.2.exe


    1. Click Add/Remove Entries

    View attachment 1997

    2. Select Vista /Longhorn

    View attachment 1998

    3. Type in the name you want for your 7 installation

    View attachment 1999

    4. Select the drive letter 7 is installed on ( as seen when you are in Vista)

    View attachment 2001

    5. Click Add Entry

    View attachment 2002


    If you get any errors - please post a screenshot of the Disk Management window.

    If you want to find out more about Easybcd - here is the website:

    Download EasyBCD 1.7.2 - NeoSmart Technologies

    Hope it helps
     
    #12 SIW2, Aug 27, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2009
  13. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    #13 RAK, Aug 27, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2009
  14. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi RAK,

    Um , yes , I just posted the d/l links and screenie instructions.

    I am a member at NST btw - It's great these apps. are available for free.

    They can be useful - saves a lot of typing when booting a custom.wim from the HD, for example.

    However, relying too much on apps. to do the work means little is learnt - particularly in a case like this when 3 commands are all that is needed - it is a lot quicker too.
     
    #14 SIW2, Aug 27, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2009
  15. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried that program, but it doesn't show the windows 7 option upon boot up, just xp and vista?

    but i wanted to know why am i getting that error, like i type the first thing it works i get the numbers then when i try to do the next thing i get some type of error, as i posted above??

    anymore ideas.

    its driving me crazy...

    thanks for the help...
     
  16. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Need a screenshot of Disk Management.
     
  17. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i checked the log in that program the windows 7 entry had the drive from u: so i changed it to f: then i restarted my computer and it showed but when i click it i get the hardware error

    saying thats windows\system32\winload.exe cannot verify digital signature for this file and some other info like about malicious software..

    anyway his the pic of my diskmgm

    View attachment 2003
     
  18. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    You have pointed the bcd entry in the right direction as it is finding winload.exe.

    Try running startup repair from the 7 dvd.

    Boot the 7 dvd - you will see windows loading files - then select language and keyboard, click Next.

    When you get the screen that says Install Now - don't click that - click where it says Repair my computer at the bottom of that screen.

    Startup repair will probably run automatically - if not, highlight 7 on the list of installed o/s and click Next, then click Startup Repair.
     
  19. fight2fight

    fight2fight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried the repair of the disc but it said there no errors??

    funny thing is when the disc is in it will boot in no problems??

    so its quite weird..

    wat now???
     
  20. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    "However, relying too much on apps. to do the work means little is learnt - particularly in a case like this when 3 commands are all that is needed - it is a lot quicker too. "

    Well, I admire your persistence, but it is now 16 posts. I really think he should follow the instructions for Easybcd. perhaps, at this stage, he is not in a "learning" phase but just wants to get the OS's up and running.

    Fwiw. He spelt "Partition" wrongly, in his last command attempt.
     

Share This Page

Loading...