Trying to Install Win7 from Vista fails at Setup is Starting

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by blizzald, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. blizzald

    blizzald New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello.
    I'm trying to install Win7, but my installation fails every time.
    I tried both installing from the CD, or copying and mounting the image and then installing.
    After it copies the temporary files and it goes into the "Starting the Setup..." phase, I get this error message that "Windows Installation and Setup has Stopped Responding" (might be Stopped Working, just doing some translation here)
    It says a certain error has caused the program to stopped working properly and windows will have to shut it down.

    I've no idea what to do, Google doesn't help much as it seems I'm theonly one in the world with this problem.

    This is the pulled data from the Window Problem Solution Center:

    Product
    Windows Installation and Setup
    Problem:
    Stopped Working

    Date:
    18/03/2011 22:02
    Event Signature
    Name of Event Error: BEX
    Application Name: setup.exe_Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
    Application Version: 6.1.7600.16385
    Timestamp of the application: 4a5bc07e
    Module Name: USER32.dll
    Module Version: 6.0.6002.18005
    Timestamp of the Module: 49e03825
    Exception: 00078668
    Exception Code: c0000409
    Exception Data: 00000000
    Version of the Boot Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.256.1

    Additional Information 1: 8575
    Additional Information 2: c754f2a2f4ea55aad2671d571c89c27a
    Additional Information 3: 07e3
    Additional Information 4: 73a4ba319d89f9f99d6d1800b934965f

    Additional Information about the problem
    Bucket Identifier: 783586624


    Could anyone help me please?
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    How exactly are you trying to install Win 7? From what version of Vista to what version of Win 7? Are you doing a clean install or an upgrade over Vista? Did you download and burn the DVD or is it retail?

    If you have any external devices you might try unplugging them, and what type of video connection do you have?
     
  3. blizzald

    blizzald New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the late response!

    I am trying to do an upgrade from the most recent Vista Ultimate version SP2
    I'm trying to upgrade to Win7 SP1 which I downloaded, and tried installing from both a burned image copy and a copy that is on my computer. My Video connection is Geforce 275 gtx
    Not sure if I have any external devices... None that I know of.

    I tried rebooting PC with MSCONFIG set to only the lowest option (default) + highest option (System Services) but the same problem yielded despite not having any program running in the background.
    I don't even get to the upgrade option, see where I wrote it fails. It doesn't get through the Starting Setup... stage!

    Oh, one more thing, when I disabled ALL msconfig start up options, (living just the lowest one ticked, which can't be unticked anyway) I could install, but it would not give me the Upgrade option (probably since Services were not enabled) but just let me choose a clean install for x86 or x64 Win7, and it did not give me the option to Customize or Upgrade! :\
     
    #3 blizzald, Mar 19, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Just to make sure I do not misunderstand, you downloaded Windows 7 and the Windows 7 SP1? I will assume then you can download a full Windows 7 install with SP1 already included.

    If you have the correct install software, which would be a DVD, you might want to try downloading it again and burning at a slow speed, like 4x.

    If you are installing over Vista, (running the install from within Vista), it is normally recommended to do a clean install of Windows 7 to keep any older drivers from interfering with the install.
     
  5. blizzald

    blizzald New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the setup I downloaded has SP1 already included inside of it. The Checksum of the setup seemed to be fine, and I ran the installation as a mounted image....
    There is no way I will do a clean install, since I have too many programs with too many settings on my vista, but alas, the problems I mentioned are still happening.
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    OK, so you did run the Win 7 compatibility checker, or whatever they call it on your current system, and did it give you any suggestions of any software that might need to be uninstalled?

    Anti-virus programs have always been a roadblock.
     
  7. blizzald

    blizzald New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed, I did run the upgrade adviser, and it wrote I have 3 problems I have to take care of:
    Reinstall itunes after the upgrade, Steam and Audacity. Besides that, it also said I'm ready to upgrade to Win7 at any time.

    About Antivirus (or any other programs) I have NOD. I did try to run windows after disabling any startup programs (except for System Services), which means my Antivirus and any other programs were not running in the background...
     

Share This Page

Loading...