Two hard drive boot

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by realwin7noob, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. realwin7noob

    realwin7noob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two hard drives on my computer. One has Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (1T, default load) and the other Win 7 Ultimate 32 bit (500 gig). I want to be able to boot off the 32 bit HD to play my games, they run terrible on the 64 bit drive. I have gone to the msconfig boot tab and it does not show the 32 bit drive, though it does appear in "my computer". Both drives are SATA. The only way I have of playing any of the games is by actually unpluging the 64 bit drive and then booting, and that's a pain. :mad: Any help will be greatly appreciated! :) Thanks.
     
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
  3. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    If you want a guaranteed solution (can try for free), download bootitng from TeraByte Unlimited :: Boot Manager :: Partition Manager :: Drive Image :: Disk Copy :: Drive Wipe :: Hard Drive Utilities.
     
  4. crotiusf16

    crotiusf16 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have XP on a 120 Gig and Win 7 Home Prem 64bit on my 320 Gig SATA drives. My question is this; Why does win 7 have 2 program files? One says Program(x86) and the other just programs.
     
  5. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    You are running the 64 bit version but most software is written to run in 32 bid mode. That's the way 7 installs them to keep them separate. You have ie in both. You can't view youtube videos with the ie in the program files folder but you can with the version in the (x86) folder.
     
  6. realwin7noob

    realwin7noob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    Okay, I download and installed the hard drive boot program. It works except for one thing, it will not let me choose which drive I boot from (it shows C:, L: and boot, L: beining my 1T, 64 bit drive) when I turn on the computer. It will not stay at "boot" when I click save, so, if I want to use the 32 bit drive and it boots to the 64 bit drive I have to change the setting and then reboot, and the other way around. Better than haveiong to actually unplug my 64 bit drive, probably better for the drives, too. Is there any way to choose from the very begining? :confused:

    Thanks
     
  7. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    The bootitng homepage has some good tutorials on setting up your partitions for selective boot and how to mask off the other partition(s) that you are not using.
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Go to Start > Run, and type msconfig and click the Boot tab. there you can change it.
     
  9. realwin7noob

    realwin7noob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    msconfig boot tab only shows the 64 bit drive not the 32 bit. I tried that first.
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Right-click on Computer om the the desktop, choose properties, click the Advanced system settings, then click the Settings button under Startup an Recovery.

    What's listed here?t
     
  11. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    No software can determine that, it's set in the bios before software runs, .... so your only option is to boot to a drive with a multi-boot menu so you can go from there to and drive, any os.

    Check my blogs, you may bet easybcd to work or you can run 3 bcdedit commands to set up the multi boot menu
     
  12. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    That's a good topic for debate.. ;) Seeing as by definition the BIOS IS a form software.. :)
     
  13. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    What does BIOS stand for? basic input/output system

    Software may access and modify the bios but it can't do that until AFTER the bios boots the system.
     
  14. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Did you ever try EasyBCD as tblount suggested? Get us a picture of the Disk Management window, and then use a administrative command prompt to run bcdedit. The command window will show what you currently have set up. A snipit can get both at once. Then attach it to your post.
     

Share This Page

Loading...