Ultimate to Pro

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Rohnman, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. Rohnman

    Rohnman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    recently I bought a laptop that had windows 7 pro on. I didn't receive a disc with it. only my serial number at the bottom. I had to format because of a shut down issue and 'my computer' issue. So I formatted with an ultimate disc,the only disc I could get. This edition told me that my serial key is not for that version. Is there something else I can do?

    Regards
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello and welcome.

    Did you buy the laptop from a store or used?

    Who's the manufacturer?
     
  3. Rohnman

    Rohnman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bought it from a supplier that supplies pc equipment throughout the country to all businesses. Gigabyte laptop.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    It should have came with disks with it. You'll have to contact that outfit
     
  5. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    Do you think he may need an OEM cd? The Ultimate disc that you grabbed -- was it a retail disc? Maybe thats why it says your key is invalid, because its looking for a retail key and all you have is an OEM key.
     
  6. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Hi there,
    there is a small file in Windows iso's or DVD's which determine what version of 7 you are going to install, however all are capable of installing any version. To install the version you want so your key will work, is as easy as removing this file, allowing you to choose, or by editing it to install the version you want by default. This is called ei.cfg.

    [​IMG]

    If you only have the DVD you will have to make your own iso using imgburn or something similar. If you already have an iso, use the ei.cfg removal utility found here. Then burn the iso to another disk or to a pen drive, format and start again.

    More info here.

    Let me know if you need more help and good luck.
     
    #6 loathe, Feb 24, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2010

Share This Page

Loading...