Unable to connect to the modem with windows 7 x64

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by kartalq7, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. kartalq7

    kartalq7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,


    Since yesterday I can't connect to the modem with my desktop pc(windows 7 x64). I get APIPA as IP adress(169.254.*.*). Tho I could go on internet with my notebook with the cable I use for desktop PC.


    this is how my connection looks like. I got only modem & switch between my connection to the internet.
    note: I have no fileserver.
    177198d1317236359t-unable-connect-modem-windows-7-x64-72-adsl2-modem-diagram.

    I've checked the following things with my other PC(=notebook windows 7 x86): modem, switch, cable and my network card and everything did work fine.
    note: I did use the same cable as I was using for the desktop PC to be sure that the cableline was fine.


    I made the next tests with my desktop PC.

    177195d1317235822t-unable-connect-modem-windows-7-x64-cabletest.
    177196d1317235822t-unable-connect-modem-windows-7-x64-hwtest.

    Then done the next ones without success:
    1. system restore(1 week)
    2. winsock fix
    3. reinstalling the networkcard
    4. giving static IP adress

    My network card settings are the same for the both PC, set to automatically obtain IP address and DNS server addresses


    ipconfig /all of my desktop pc.(not working)
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    
    
    ipconfig /all
    
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
    
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82578DC Gigabit Network Connecti
    on
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-71-BC-A8-20-52
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6c1e:8272:b8cb:7d94%22(Preferred)
       Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.125.148(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 175141308
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-DC-05-51-70-71-BC-A8-20-52
    
    
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
                                           fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
                                           fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1CF22D94-5DCF-45C1-8853-0A4E9A6D6E08}:
    
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    ipconfig /all of my notebook pc.(working)
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [versie 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Alle rechten voorbehouden.
    
    
    ipconfig /all
    
    
    Windows IP-configuratie
    
    
       Hostnaam  . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC
       Primair DNS-achtervoegsel . . . . :
       Knooppunttype . . . . . . . . . . : hybride
       IP-routering ingeschakeld . . . . : nee
       WINS-proxy ingeschakeld . . . . . : nee
       DNS-achtervoegselzoeklijst. . . . : telenet.be
    
    
    Ethernet-adapter voor LAN-verbinding:
    
    
       Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: telenet.be
       Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet-controller
       Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-80-18-5C-74
       DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : ja
       Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : ja
       IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:54c2:e306:b:29ed:5ff5:ba7e:600d(voorkeur)
       IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:54c2:e369:b:29ed:5ff5:ba7e:600d(voorkeur)
       IPv6-adres in lokale site . . . . : fec0::b:29ed:5ff5:ba7e:600d%2(voorkeur)
       Tijdelijk IPv6-adres. . . . . . . : 2002:54c2:e306:b:29ee:eff9:48be:dc37(voorkeur)
       Tijdelijk IPv6-adres. . . . . . . : 2002:54c2:e369:b:29ee:eff9:48be:dc37(voorkeur)
       Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::29ed:5ff5:ba7e:600d%11(voorkeur)
       IPv4-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 84.194.227.6(voorkeur)
       Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.224.0
       Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . : woensdag 28 september 2011 20:23:43
       Lease verlopen. . . . . . . . . . : woensdag 28 september 2011 21:23:43
       Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 84.194.224.1
       DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.132.102
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268442240
       DHCPv6-client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-2E-2E-9E-00-1A-80-18-5C-74
    
    
       DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.131.131
                                           195.130.130.3
       NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : ingeschakeld
    
    
    Draadloos LAN-adapter voor Draadloze netwerkverbinding:
    
    
       Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
       Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: telenet.be
       Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
       Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-13-E8-EE-1F-B9
       DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : ja
       Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : ja
    
    
    Tunnel-adapter voor LAN-verbinding* 2:
    
    
       Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
       Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
       Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : ja
       IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:2cac:57f:ab3d:1cf9(voorkeur)
       Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::2cac:57f:ab3d:1cf9%33(voorkeur)
       Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . :
       NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : uitgeschakeld
    
    
    Tunnel-adapter voor isatap.telenet.be:
    
    
       Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium disconnected
       Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: telenet.be
       Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #8
       Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
       Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : ja
    
    
    Tunnel-adapter voor 6TO4 Adapter:
    
    
       Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: telenet.be
       Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
       Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
       Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : ja
       IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:54c2:e306::54c2:e306(voorkeur)
       IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:54c2:e369::54c2:e369(voorkeur)
       Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
       DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.131.131
                                           195.130.130.3
       NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : uitgeschakeld
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  3. kartalq7

    kartalq7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Randy

    I've already done that yesterday and it does not work.

    Route print
    Code:
    ===========================================================================Interface List
     22...70 71 bc a8 20 52 ......Intel(R) 82578DC Gigabit Network Connection
      1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
     10...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
     11...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    ===========================================================================
    
    
    IPv4 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
            127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
            127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
          169.254.0.0      255.255.0.0         On-link   169.254.125.148    276
      169.254.125.148  255.255.255.255         On-link   169.254.125.148    276
      169.254.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link   169.254.125.148    276
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
            224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link   169.254.125.148    276
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link   169.254.125.148    276
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
      None
    
    
    IPv6 Route Table
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
     If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
      1    306 ::1/128                  On-link
     22    276 fe80::/64                On-link
     22    276 fe80::6c1e:8272:b8cb:7d94/128
                                        On-link
      1    306 ff00::/8                 On-link
     22    276 ff00::/8                 On-link
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
    
      None
    I've added the error log aswell as an attachment. Hopefully it helps you
     

    Attached Files:

    #3 kartalq7, Sep 29, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2011
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Reboot the computer into safe mode with networking (by tapping the F8 key at the POST screen) and see if the problem persists in this alternative boot mode.
     
  5. kartalq7

    kartalq7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does not work aswell in the safe mode with networking.
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You still end up with an APIPA address (169.254.nnn.nnn) in safemode with networking?
     
  7. kartalq7

    kartalq7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I still got an APIPA address
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Try this, type
    ncpa.cpl
    into the search or run box and hit enter
    Select then right click the problem intel adapter and choose properties
    Click the "Configure" button near the top
    Select the "Advanced" tab
    In the left column (Property: ) select Link Speed and Duplex (might just say speed and duplex)
    In the right column (Value: ) select the drop down arrow and choose
    10Mbps Half Duplex
    OK your way back out of there and reboot the computer.
    See if that helps resolve the issue and post back with any updates.
     
  9. kartalq7

    kartalq7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still get APIPA as IP address
     
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Try this,
    Open a command prompt and type
    ipconfig /all
    and hit enter
    examine the information pertinent to the problem adapter, specifically the value called "Physical Address) write it down and remove the dashes / hyphens (-). That should leave you with a 12 digit hex value.
    I believe your is
    70-71-BC-A8-20-52 and should look like this 7071BCA82052 with the hyphens removed, but check and confirm.
    Now type
    ncpa.cpl
    into the search or run box and hit enter
    Select then right click the problem intel adapter and choose properties
    Click the "Configure" button near the top
    Select the "Advanced" tab
    In the left column (Property: ) select Network Address
    In the right column (Value: ) Select the radio button next to the text box that will allow you to enter your MAC address and enter the 12 digit hex value you have determine is correct above
    OK your way back out of there and reboot the computer.
    See if that helps resolve the issue and post back with any updates.
     
  11. kartalq7

    kartalq7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing changed.

    I've tried ipconfig /renew.
    It does say "unable to contact your DHCP server. request has timed out.".
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Up till now I've been giving you the benefit of the doubt, since your initial post said "since yesterday" which would suggest that everything had been working fine prior to yesterday and in hopes that perhaps the image you provided of you network was just slightly inaccurate, but now after having re-examined the ipconfig information you provided from your "working" laptop, it looks to me like the laptop computer is receiving a live public IP addressing scheme from your ISP.
    So, while I cannot speak with any specific knowledge as to how Internet Service Providers provision their residential DSL circuits in Europe, I can provide some knowledge as to how it's done here in the United States
    Most devices provided by ISPs (DSL and Cable) here in the U.S., only have a single IP address provisioned and available for use by a single device. Normally that address is then handed off to a Router (WAN side) and used to route internal (LAN side) private reserved address traffic using NAT (Network Address Translation) from internal devices on your network (private) to the Internet (Public).
    I'm not seeing a Router in you image of your network? I do see a switch, a wireless access point, a server, a game console and of course your laptop and desktop. Can you tell me, are you able to connect to the internet with the server, and the game console and if so what are the IP addresses that they are using?
    I know that in some instances the ISP provided device is also a router and capable of handling NAT and private DHCP addressing, but I also know that some of these will only NAT a single private address depending on the manufacturer and model, however seeing as nothing on your network is receiving any private reserved addresses (excluding APIPA) then I'm not sure what is actually going on.
    Perhaps try disconnecting (or turning off) all devices on your network including your ISP provided device, switch, access point, et al. Plug your problem desktop directly into that device (ISP Provided Device / Modem) and boot the device backup again and then your desktop. See if you can connect from your desktop then. Check what the IP address is. If you can connect with that configuration, you first should probably go back and un-do the speed and duplex setting returning it to automatic and un-do the network address assignment returning it to not present.
    Then maybe add back other nodes (appliances and computer / consoles and see what can connect to the internet and what can't.
     
  13. kartalq7

    kartalq7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    My pc did work 2 days ago, but suddenly it started to give unidentified network error.
    Tho I didn't changed anything nor updated.


    my router does work like a hub and doesn't use private addresses.
    my provider does give me max. 4 different IP addresses. As you can see it from my subnetmask(255.255.224.0). It does range from 84.194.*.*.


    my xbox has the following connection:
    IP address: 84.194.241.129
    subnetmask: 255.255.224.0
    default gateway: 84.194.224.1


    My notebook:
    IP address: 84.194.237.71
    subnetmask: 255.255.224.0
    default gateway: 84.194.224.1


    And I've tried to connect my pc directly into the modem, but it didn't worked aswell.


    I'm thinking to format my pc as nothing works.
     
  14. kartalq7

    kartalq7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've formatted my pc but I still got the same problem.

    I'll try to bridge connection on my notebook and connect it with my desktop, let's see if this will work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...