Windows 7 unreal tournament 3 issues

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by Mirrorboy, May 24, 2009.

  1. Mirrorboy

    Mirrorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    whenever i try to connect to a server on UT3, the game crashes. i've tried changing the compatibility settings, but it didn't work with any of the combinations i tried. i just installed the latest graphics driver from nVidia and the latest game patch from Epic, but neither helped. the only thing i can think of is my memory. i have 1.5GB of DDR SDRAM and when the game crashes, my system monitor gadget shows 1200-1300MB out of 1534MB of memory in use, which leads me to believe i just don't have enough memory to run the game on top of windows 7 (windows takes up about 500-750MB of memory with a few programs running). also, for the first time since i've had this problem, i got an error message giving some explanation and it says something about memory (pictured below). is this a compatibility issue with windows 7 or do i just need more memory? (the max my mobo can take is 2GB, but i might be upgrading my mobo/processor soon).

    compatibility settings i've tried:

    OS: Windows XP SP2/SP3
    Disable visual themes: YES/NO
    Disable desktop composition: YES/NO
    Disable display scaling on high DPI settings: YES/NO
    Run as admin: YES

    OS: Windows Vista/SP1/SP2
    Disable visual themes: YES/NO
    Disable desktop composition: YES/NO
    Disable display scaling on high DPI settings: YES/NO
    Run as admin: YES/NO
     
  2. Relic

    Relic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like you have plenty of memory. I'm having similar problems running ut3 on windows 7 home premium retail. The splash/logo screens do not appear, but there is sound. The menus look horrible and scrambled. But I am able to play the game. The graphics in game are also horrid and 'scrambled'. I've not had any problems with the game until I installed windows 7.
     
  3. Mirrorboy

    Mirrorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    uhh, wow. talk about a late reply. i've had numerous things done to my computer since i posted this, so this isn't an issue anymore.
     
  4. Relic

    Relic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you recall how you fixed your ut3 issues??
     
  5. Mirrorboy

    Mirrorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea. i installed a new motherboard, processor and RAM. the reason for this problem when i first posted it was that i didn't have enough system resources to run it online without crashing. but i have twice as much ram now in addition to a much faster processor.
     

Share This Page

Loading...