unwanted dual boot option at startup

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by asimegusta, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. asimegusta

    asimegusta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the upgrade on a new ASUS laptop from Vista Home premium to Windows 7 yesterday. I chose the new installation following the ASUS upgrade guide to get a fresh install. The installation itself went fine.

    However, now on start-up the black recovery screen comes on and I have to choose which OS I want.
    How can I get rid of this unwanted dual boot option.

    Asus has you make a recovery DVD set before upgrading so I have that already. Also this is a new laptop and had no personal files or programs on it since I was waiting to upgrade before doing anythiing else.

    I already shortened the screen time for the recovery option, but I really want to eliminate it altogether.

    How can I get rid of this unwanted dual boot option?
    How do I get rid of the Vista OS?

    Anybody else have this? :confused:
     
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Run Msconfig and under Boot you can uncheck the options except the one to 7, you won't be prompted then.

    You should run this command from a command prompt to backup your bcd file first. Then you can restore if there is mistake.

    BcdEdit /export c:\savedbcd
     
    reghakr and (deleted member) like this.
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Would you mind going through what the Asus instructions told you to do?

    What are the options for dual boot?
     

Share This Page

Loading...