Upgrade question (clean install)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by damageInc, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. damageInc

    damageInc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to clean install from a Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit Upgrade disc. I currently am running Vista 32bit. When I get to the Drive Options, what should I do:

    1) Select my existing partition and format
    or
    2) Delete the existing partition and create a new partition

    is there any difference between these options?
     
  2. damageInc

    damageInc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Drew. One more question though, will the product activation still work? I know people are running into problems with that. I am supposed to have a previous version of Vista or XP, and if I delete my partition, it might not recognize that...or does it still recognize it?
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    The Windows 7 "clean" install will format the drive for you.
     
  4. damageInc

    damageInc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Huh? I'm doing a custom install, aka a clean install, and reformatting (or deleting the partitions I currently have). So I'm wiping everything. So no, there isn't an OS in there when I do the install, is there? Keep in mind I'm booting from the DVD. So I'm worried that if I don't do this exactly right, I'll end up in this situation: What do I do if my Windows product key isn't accepted?
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Sorry, just noticed after the Upgrade Question in your first post, you indicated a "clean" install.
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Drew, sorry, but I disagree

    You don't have to jump through all those hoops.

    Even if it's an Upgrade disk, you simply choose the Advanced box on install.

    Be aware, though, you'll need to re-install all your 3rd party applications.
     

Share This Page

Loading...