Upgrading Windows 7 to a better version

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by JTL9000, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. JTL9000

    JTL9000 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a upgrade related problem that I can't seem to figure out. I'm current running the RC of Windows 7 Home Premium and recently got a release copy of Win 7 Professional via Microsoft's Academic Alliance (which, for some reason, got it about a month before the official release date). Naturally, I want to upgrade Home Premium to Pro, preferably without formatting my entire system. But here's the problem. If I put in the Pro disc and try to install, it says that, to upgrade to a different version of Windows 7, I need to use Windows Anytime Upgrade instead of the disc. So I tried Windows Anytime, entering my Pro product key when it asked for my Anytime Upgrade key, and got a message saying that my key is invalid. I double and triple checked the key but it still didn't work. What am I missing here? I'm sure there's got to be an easy way to upgrade to a better version of 7, but I can't figure it out...
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Was there any info at msdnaa about how those student deal keys work ?
     
  3. JTL9000

    JTL9000 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    The site is rather barebones, but from what I could gather they should work just like ordinary product keys.

    At this point, the only thing I can think of is that Anytime Upgrade may not actually work until after Win 7's official release date (if I use Anytime Upgdade to try and purchase a new key, it says it won't be available until Oct 22). But other than that, I'm out of ideas.
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I don't think you can upgrade the RC.
    Joe
     
  5. rock_doctor

    rock_doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no upgrade path from the beta nor RC directly to 7 upgrade. So you will have to back up anything you want to keep and reinstall the original OS then the 7 upgrade. I know how you feel. I am not looking forward to reinstalling vista only to install 7 but that is the way it is.
     
  6. JTL9000

    JTL9000 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seriously?!? The only reason I even installed the RC in the first place was because Vista Home Premium won't upgrade directly to 7 Pro thanks to the way Microsoft structured their upgrade paths (which, BTW, I can't think of any logical reason for) and I didn't want to have to format my entire system. Isn't there some work-around?

    EDIT: Upon further investigation, the error I'm getting when I try to install Pro over the HP RC isn't the "this pre-release version can't be upgraded" error. It just wants me to use Anytime Upgrade. So I'm assuming that's not my problem (though I could be wrong). Also, the RC can be directly upgraded to a later version of 7, it just requires a simple hack, which can be easily Googled.
     
    #6 JTL9000, Sep 26, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2009
  7. JTL9000

    JTL9000 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sigh... I decided to just give up and do a new custom install of 7 Pro. At least I can save myself a little time by grabbing some of my stuff out of the WindowsOld folder instead of restoring and reinstalling everything. Though I do think the fact that I had to do this is the first place is pretty dumb.

    Thanks anyway, guys.
     
  8. Clintre

    Clintre New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually that's not true. It can be done with a small tweak to the ISO file. Here's a good post on how easy it is to upgrade from the RC version of Windows 7 to RTM. Did this myself and it works quite well.

    Upgrade Windows 7 RC to RTM | FettesPS

    Note: If you are using a customized version of a Windows 7 it will probably fail.
     

Share This Page

Loading...