Windows 7 Upgrading windows vista 64 to windows 7 64

fatalpuls3

I am recieving my free copy of windows 7 64bit. I was curious if i do a in place upgrade will it just upgrade my current windows installation and migrate all my programs to windows 7 or will it create a windows.old folder with all my stuff in there?

I know a fresh install is the way to go but i got my laptop setup the way i like it and i do not want to redo it. I have a few programs and games installed and was hoping this would all migrate to the windows 7 installation. I also realize there could be a lot of time involved in the windows 7 upgrade feature.

So im looking for information on how the windows 7 disc actually upgrades the current windows installation.. I have never done a windows upgrade before and figured with all the advancements that upgrading to windows 7 might not be so bad.

thanks in advance.

I am recieving my free copy of windows 7 64bit. I was curious if i do a in place upgrade will it just upgrade my current windows installation and migrate all my programs to windows 7 or will it create a windows.old folder with all my stuff in there?

I know a fresh install is the way to go but i got my laptop setup the way i like it and i do not want to redo it. I have a few programs and games installed and was hoping this would all migrate to the windows 7 installation. I also realize there could be a lot of time involved in the windows 7 upgrade feature.

So im looking for information on how the windows 7 disc actually upgrades the current windows installation.. I have never done a windows upgrade before and figured with all the advancements that upgrading to windows 7 might not be so bad.

thanks in advance.