Windows 7 USB Problems

TigerJon73

I just came across this forum so I apologize if I'm not posting in the correct category. I'm also very new to 7, so again, accept my apologies if I am not providing everything needed for my question to be answered. A friend and I built a new PC a few weeks ago and I have been having problems with, what appears to be, USB data transfer. I am running the 32-bit version of 7 Home Premium. My motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3. I have been having all kinds of problems syncing my Ipod 2nd Gen Touch and pulling video from my Sony Handycam by way of USB 2.0. I am running the most current version of Itunes. However, when I hook up my WD 320 GB external HD, I don't appear to have any problems transferring files or creating images of my drives using Macrium Reflect. After I put all of my music in Itunes I synced. I got a USB message telling me all the software (drivers?) was not installed properly, therefore the device may not work properly. I was able to sync, however. A day later when I was listening to music, I noticed a lot of it skipping and bleeping. Also, a bunch of the artwork was distorted. After uninstalling and re-installing Itunes, re-sync after re-sync, and deleting and re-uploading my music to Itunse, I decided to run a restore to my Ipod and start over. Towards the end of the progress bar I got an error message (Error 9: This error occurs when the device unexpectedly drops off of the USB bus and communication stops. This can occur if the device is manually disconnected during the restore process. This issue can be resolved by performing USB isolation troubleshooting, using a different USB dock connector cable, trying another USB port, restoring on another computer, or by eliminating conflicts from third-party security software). I tried running the restore a second time but my Ipod bricked the second time and I had to take it to an Apple store to have them bring it back to life. I will say that I turned off my firewall bef