Username and Password

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by alistair23, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. alistair23

    alistair23 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a hidden WEP Wireless network, that Windows XP and Ubuntu connect to no problem. So i try and connect to it in Windows 7, I enter the SSID and then after a while it asks for a username and password. But I don't know what that is. I have tried SSID and WEP, WEP and WEP, username and password for the router settings, even my Windows 7 Username and Password. Can someone tell me what the Username and Password will be, and where to get that info. Any help will help, PLEASE someone help me.
     
  2. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Is that for the router ?
    If it is Linksys, type admin, no password required. If it is Netgear the it is admin and 1234
    You might need to get in to the software. If you have not altered the defaults, this should work.
    For the Linksys
    start your web browser and jumping into the configuration.
    Once your web browser is open, go to the URL http://192.168.1.1/. This will take you to a popup box which asks you to enter a username and password.
    [​IMG]
    Logging in to a LinkSys Router
    The username is either blank or "admin" and the default password is "admin"

    For Netgear.

    Type http://192.168.0.1 in the address field of your browser. Enter admin for the user name and password for the password, both in lower case letters

    Those are the only two I have in use. You will have to browse to check on any of the other varieties.


     
  3. alistair23

    alistair23 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, thanks for the fast post. I have some random Speed Stream Router, I have tried the used name and password that I use to edit the router settings but that doesn't work (So what you are suggesting isn't the problem). I am just trying to get a normal internet connection (Normally this is the part where it will ask for the WEP key). I click the wireless button, then other network, enter SSID and connect. Nothing special nothing. Windows 7 has no internet so currently I am in Xp.
     
  4. Sp3ctre18

    Sp3ctre18 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    just wondering sicne you mention the WEP key...did you go to the properties for that conection and make sure encryption is WEP, and did you enter the WEP key there?
     
  5. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Try to manually create the network with the WEP key and everything entered. Usually you should not receive that screen it is quite odd why you would be. If manually creating the wireless network does not work please post back and we can think of something else.
     
  6. alistair23

    alistair23 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Once the network is there it has all of the properties, it says it is WEP, Excellent signal all of that. I don't know how to manually connect to a network. I just click other network in the Wireless manager and go from there. I will go back to Windows 7 and try again, and post back on any news. Thanks for the help.

    I connected. I did a manual connect. Thanks for the help.
     
    #6 alistair23, Jan 14, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2009
  7. tnt-broertje

    tnt-broertje New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    i have the same problem here with my windows 7
    what did you do to make it work? (manual connected) i dont understand wath you mean with that?
    please reply
    grtz
     

Share This Page

Loading...