video show grains

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by cooler2005, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. cooler2005

    cooler2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.!

    I am trying to play a DVD video file on my windows 7 windows media player. Since it is a DVD format, the movie is crystal clear (hv tested it on my laptop [vista]). When i play it in windows 7, the movie shows a lot of grains and is not at all clear.! I've even tried a couple of codecs, tried k-lite mega pack, Media player classic...btu in vain. Kindly help me out plz.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Is your graphics driver the latest version?
     
  3. cooler2005

    cooler2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.! Thanks for replying...

    The graphic card is an onboard intel card....i'm not really sure of the model number and everything...but i do see an icon in my taskbar which says "Intel Graphics Media Accelerator"...so i guess windows 7 did install the graphics driver.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
  5. cooler2005

    cooler2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi...thanks for replying...:)

    This is what it says....

    Intel(R) 915G/P/GV/GL/PL/910GE/GL Processor to I/O Controller - 2580
     
  6. adamike

    adamike New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it all like in squares?

    i have the same problem

    tried installing a fresh driver for the NVIDIA- current Geforce - does that have anything to do with the video quality?
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Need a bit more info really..Could you list your system spec?
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    I checked on the Intel site and the latest driver I could find was for XP... How old is your machine?
     
  9. cooler2005

    cooler2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's about 5 yrs old...
     
  10. adamike

    adamike New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not really good in this - i have a HP pavilion DV2700

    do you know what can be the problem - it only started after installing the new windows
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Hmm......I think your gonna have problems... Your machine may be a little old to get perfect functionality with 7...
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Same with you adamike, I'd try running vista drivers if you can otherwise your machine may be a little too old..
     
  13. kevin from Chi-town

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have to agree with Kem....those pc's will have issues due to the age. Win 7 as well as Vista has a much higher overhead than XP, requiring newer more efficient hardware
     
  14. cooler2005

    cooler2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    True...Even i encountered this problem after installing windows 7.!
     
  15. cooler2005

    cooler2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    :(....what i'm running it windows 7 ultimate....would the home edition work properly?
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Unfortunately it has little to do with the os version..

    Whilst it's true that windows 7 doesn't need much to run (not as much as vista anyway). It still needs relatively recent hardware... So if your laptop/desktop easily ran vista then under 7 it shouldn't have any problems... If you've never ran vista and was hoping to leap straight to 7 then it might be the case where the machine is just not up to the job....

    If you still feel that your machine may be capable then try the 7 install advisor: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/get/upgrade-advisor.aspx
     

Share This Page

Loading...