Vista to 7 Upgrade--Slow Boot up Time

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by nolephin, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. nolephin

    nolephin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded to Windows 7 from Vista and I have noticed the boot time is slower than it was with Vista. I tested my bootup time through a program and it took 194 seconds for my comp to boot up.

    My question is would making a clean install of Windows 7 solve this problem and make boot up times much faster?
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    It;s recommended to do a :"clean" install
     
  3. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Before you do a clean install could you check and see how many duplicate files are left hanging around after a vista to 7 update?

    In my tagline there is a link to Speed tweaks. I got my system down to 17 seconds boot time by taking out a lot of features and services that are not needed on a typical home setup.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    tblount.

    Is the 17 second start when you turn your compuyer off and the icons come up or do you waiy for the system to fully boot

    I'll have to try mine and see what it is. But I have a cheap E-Machine wuth 1 GB of RAM woth a 3.0 experoems score.
     
  5. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    It's measured by BootRacer... there is a thread about it.. here is an image at 19 secs.
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Thank, I'll check it out.
     
  7. nolephin

    nolephin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tblount,

    How do I check to see where the duplicate files are? That sounds like it could be the problem. I would love to get my start up time anywhere near 17 seconds.

    Thanks.
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    This freeware utility does an excellent job, but do not mess with the operating system files ijn the c:\windows\system32 directory

    Easy Duplicate File Finder



    [SIZE=+2]FEATURES[/SIZE]
    1. Search for true duplicates (files with same contents)
      Powerful search engine with fast files check
      Full binary (byte-by-byte) comparison
    2. Flexible Scan settings
      Search files by masks
      Size conditions & skip zero-length files option
    3. Find duplicates from selected folders or drives
      Add multiple folders/drives for scanning
    4. Safety
      Protect system files and folders
      Move files to Recycle Bin or delete duplicate files permanently
      Mark selected duplicates by renaming them with adding prefix to file names - to test which files is safe to delete
    5. Convenient user interface
    6. Duplicate file management - remove only unnecessary duplicates
      Select files manually (for deletion) or use flexible selection options
      Rename duplicate files with prefix/postfix
      Move duplicate files to folder
      Open folder containing selected file
      Show file properties
      Open file with associated program
    7. Full Unicode support
      Support for files with Chinese, Japanese, Arabian etc names
    8. Export list of duplicates to HTML document or to TXT file

    SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
    1. OS: Windows 95/98/Me/2000/XP/Vista
    2. CPU: 400 MHz or higher
    3. RAM: 128 MB or more
    4. Hard Drive: 5 MB of free space
    Yes, it does run on Windows 7
     
  9. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    I use one in Windows 7 Manager ... but there are many others.

    I've had a few people tell me that after they fixed everything in the logs recorded by "Identify the cause" link below.. and then applied the Speed tweaks, they saw significant improvement in performance.
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    There are many, many system files located in different directories.

    Look at these search results:

    Every time I install an application, I go to that directory ans see if these system files exist. If the version is higher in the C:\Windows\system32 directory, I delete that file from the installation directory.

    Yes, I keep a clean machine
     
  11. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    I can't quite read the image... but the only duplicates I have are 3 icons. I am guessing that your dupes are actually just log files. .xml ?? I had about 50 logs duplicated after running all the diagnostics I list in the link below.. but I deleted them and ran the clear log batch file.
     
  12. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    No, in Folders options, I have checked Show hidden file and folders, uncheck hide extensions for known file types, unchecked Hide Protected operating system files.
     
  13. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    Hold the phone.. I just got a better look and see you have tons of .dll files. It looks like you did an upgrade? Something about that picture just ain't right.
     
  14. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I have never done an upgrade since the initial beta was released.

    If you were to use my File Finder program , you would get similar results on your computer.
     
  15. nolephin

    nolephin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to bother you guys, but I am not really too computer savvy.

    What exactly do I need to do to reduce the boot up time? Something about deleting duplicate files? How would I do that exactly?

    Once again I apologize, I am not that literate when it comes to these kinds of things, excuse my ignorance.

    Step by step instructions would help a lot, thank you again guys.
     
  16. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Boy do I feel stoopid... you are right on. That progrm finds a ton of dupes. I think I'll go sit in the corner for a while.
     
  17. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    No worries:)
     
  18. nolephin

    nolephin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tblount,

    I am reading your Tweaks and Tricks Tips article and am currently in the process of disabling the 4 features you have listed there.

    Here is to hoping this solves the boot up time problem.
     
  19. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    There is a LOT more you can disable, including about 30 unneeded services and 150 scheduled tasks.

    It's easy to turn them back on if you have problems or don't see better results.
     
  20. nolephin

    nolephin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are all these unneeded services and scheduled tasks in that same file??
     

Share This Page

Loading...