Vista To 7 Upgrade

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by sd3, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. sd3

    sd3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    At the moment I am running Vista Home Premium x86. If I get the Windows 7 Professional x64 version, will this allow me to upgrade by doing a clean install?


    Thanks
     
  2. sd3

    sd3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Drew,

    Thanks.

    My CPU supports x64.

    So will I be able to use the actual Windows 7 Professional Upgrade DVD x64 over the top of Vista Home Premium x86?


    Thanks
     
  3. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I would do a clean install. Do a little searching and you'll find many posts of people having problems after upgrading.
    Joe
     
  4. sd3

    sd3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent thanks.

    I did see a matrix a while back that looked as if you could do a clean install from Vista Home Premium x86 > Win 7 Professional x64, so I assume it'll be fine.

    It's just that I ordered an upgrade CD through a student deal you see.


    Thanks again

     
  5. sd3

    sd3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would assume that it would be fine, but knowing Microsoft there's always going to a niggle!

    Hopefully it all goes to plan.

    Though, I did notice that you can contact them if you've ordered the wrong version.
     
  6. sd3

    sd3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool.

    I don't mind losing everythign on my hard disk as I will back it all up.

    I just want to be able to use the Windows 7 Professional Upgrade disc to install Windows 7 over the top of Vista Home Premium.
     
  7. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm 99 % sure you'll be able to. I know I read it somewhere. I certainly hope so since that's what I plan on doing (I just ordered 2 gb more of ram). I guess I'll be able to tell you as soon as the pre order ships.
     

Share This Page

Loading...