volsnap keeps deleting my restore points

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Weltall, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    After every reboot I loose all my restore points because "the shadow copy memory was not expanded on time" (translated from german). I have Win7 Home Premium and set the available disk space for shadow copies to 100% (1TB).
    it also slows down the startup by more than two minutes.

    here's the event's XML:
    Code:
    <Event xmlns="[B]http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event[/B]">
      <System>
        <Provider Name="[B]volsnap[/B]" />
        <EventID Qualifiers="[B]49158[/B]">25</EventID>
        <Level>2</Level>
        <Task>0</Task>
        <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
        <TimeCreated SystemTime="[B]2010-02-12T09:07:28.447845800Z[/B]" />
        <EventRecordID>20318</EventRecordID>
        <Channel>System</Channel>
        <Computer>Workstation-3</Computer>
        <Security /> 
      </System>
      <EventData>
        <Data>\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4</Data>
        <Data>C:</Data>
        <Binary>000000000200300000000000190006C0060000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000</Binary>
      </EventData>
    </Event>
    
    Can anyone help?
     
  2. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, and btw: my cluster size is 512 bytes. I read somewhere that there could be a problem with this, but there was only a fix for Win Server 2003 >=(
     
  3. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump

    please, I really need help on this. I couldn't find anything on the web. Could someone at least tell me where I could find help?
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    How did you accomplish this?
     
  5. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can set the maximum amount of disk space that shadow copies may occupy...
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Is see, your talking about the restore setting.

    Try going to Start > Run, and type services,msc. Scroll down and make sure Volume Shadow Copy is not disabled.

    The default setting is manual, try Automatic if that doesn't work.

    You;ll need to reboot your computer after every change.
     
  7. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is enabled, but if you read my post you'd know that as there are shadow copies but they are deleted on every restart.
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Sorry, didn't go back far enough for your first post.

    Try going to Start > Run, and type diskmgmt.msc and verify your partitions are NTFS.

    Also, go to Start > Run, and type cmd. Now type vssadmin list shadowstorage
     
  9. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) it is NTFS

    2) everything ok, except for the 0% disk usage of shadow copies =/
    After creating a restore point, i have 80MB disk usage and 2.9GB allocated memory.

    PS: I changed the available disk space for vss to 200GB.
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Make sure to reboot your computer after making the change.

    Keep me informed.
     
  11. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rebooted multiple times since I made that change.
     
  12. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Here's how mine is setup in the attachment. I have a 750GB hard drive:

    restore..

    How long have you had Windows 7 installed and did this occur immediately after install.

    How many partitions and/or hard drives do you have?

    Is a "clean" install out of the question?
     
  13. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed Win 7 the 28th of December and the first error message regarding vss is dated that day =/

    I have 1 RAID1 partitition, so there are actually 2 HDs.

    I'd prefer not to have to install everything again.
     
  14. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Was this a "clean" install?
     
  15. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not really =/
     
  16. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hopefully someone else will pick op on this thread. Most of us all agree that the "clean" install route is the way to go.

    An upgrade leaves useless files on your system and can cause conflicts as you are seeing now.
     
  17. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    It wasn't an actual upgrade, I had XP before (do you expect that I use Vista? lol...)
     
  18. Weltall

    Weltall New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I turned vss off to be able to use the two minutes i loose at boot to save my work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...