WD My Book Essential

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by enigma1944, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. enigma1944

    enigma1944 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just downloaded Excel to my laptop with no problem. I keep my external backup shutoff until I make/receive any changes then proceed to start it and update any changes. Today for some reason I have in my files a data set " bootsqm.data " . When I backup the external drive it will update everything but this file.

    I did some research and it appears this is a useless item. I tried deleting it from the drive but it won't go away. Any ideas appreciated. :confused::confused: Thanks
     
    #1 enigma1944, Sep 21, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Well what backup software you using? The Smartware included with My Book Essential is total crap I hope you're not using that. Their forum is full of problems from it.
    Joe
     
  3. enigma1944

    enigma1944 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I use the smartware, no other choice that I know of.

    I discovered each time a disk check is run this dataset is created.

    I don't know why but today I repeated my drill with backup AND IT WORKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    If you continue to have problems I'd check the WD forums Western Digital Community - Western Digital Community . There is also this WD Support It's a stripped down version of Acronis True Image. I use the paid version of Acronis. It depends on what you want to back up. I've got my HD partitioned with windows and applications on one and data on the other. I image windows and a separate one for data. Restoring is quite easy. The Smartware has enough problems that I don't consider it very reliable.
    Joe
     
  5. xanhellx

    xanhellx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    -I have the same drive, but i use Microsoft Synctoy 2.1 ..it's great. Hope you like it.
     
    enigma1944 and (deleted member) like this.
  6. enigma1944

    enigma1944 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    I have the 500GB model and do use their software. If I use what you recommend, what do I need to do.#-o
     
  7. xanhellx

    xanhellx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2

    -It's pretty easy.. you just need to configure a new folder pair, as:

    "echo" (from left to right, means it will drop everything on the folder you pick from your drive to the folder you'll create, or choose at the removable drive)

    "Synchronize" (everything on the folder will be the same, on both sides, and will delete everything else) or as

    "Contribute" (Will just add new stuff, won't delete anything you already have, specifically if you pick an existing folder).

    it's free, pretty fast and safe. I've never had any issue. BTW it seems, synctoy also creates a hidden after the sync too, but i've deleted it, and nothing happens, so hope it works for you.
     
  8. enigma1944

    enigma1944 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that so I'm going to use it.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...