Weird Maximize behavior with taskbar on top

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by spidertaker23, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. spidertaker23

    spidertaker23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly, I'm not sure where to post this.

    I am running Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit. I keep my taskbar on the top.

    I have a few programs that don't seem to know that my task bar is on top (2 that I know of - iTunes 10.4 64bit and Freemake). So when I maximize them there is a gap on the bottom where it thinks the taskbar is and the top of the window is underneath my taskbar.

    I'm sure there are other programs that do this.

    I'm not sure why it is doing this?

    freemake. itunes. itunesextremeexmaple.
     
  2. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    I don't have much time to try it out on my computer but I will at home tomorrow. In the meantime, I'm sure there are simple solutions right in Windows but I heard of a free and useful program, Eusing's Auto Window Manager that allows you to assign rules regarding position, transparency, etc to any program window. Try it out until I get back or someone else has a solution.
     
  3. spidertaker23

    spidertaker23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting solution. I suppose that could work. I will have to try it when I get home.

    This is what Freemake said to this question when I sent them a support email:

    HI!
    Thanks for flagging!
    We located the problem and working on it now.

    Best regards,
    John Black,
    Support Assistant
    www.freemake.com

    Find Freemake Youtube to MP3 Tool

    I sent them a reply asking them what they figured out was the problem with their program so that maybe I could pass this information on to Apple. Cuz so far only freemake and itunes exihibit this issue. It drives me nutz because I am so used to snapping to the sides and snapping to the top to maximize I do it without thinking and every time I maximize these programs it does this.
     
  4. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    I just tried it and itunes works fine. I didn't try it with Freemake but their mail sounds very unpersonalized and it sounds like they send that to every flag. If it would be a Freemake problem, why would this happen with your itunes and not mine? But lets wait a little and see what they come up with.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. spidertaker23

    spidertaker23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's strange that yours works!

    I also sent and then received this from freemake:

    [TABLE="width: 100%"]
    [TR]
    [TD][SIZE=-1]Ryan Lewandowski <ryan.lewandowski23@gmail.com> [/SIZE] [/TD]
    [TD="align: right"] [SIZE=-1] Thu, Jul 21, 2011 at 8:57 AM [/SIZE] [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="colspan: 2"] [SIZE=-1] To: John Black <support@freemake.com>
    [/SIZE] [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="colspan: 2"] [TABLE="width: 100%"]
    [TR]
    [TD] [SIZE=-1]Thanks! Let me know. Maybe I can get apple to fix iTunes too. Have anything I can tell them related to what you found for fixing freemake?

    Ryan Lewandowski
    Godfrey & Kahn, S.C.
    Pc Specialist
    Sent from my iPhone

    [Quoted text hidden]

    [/SIZE] [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    [HR][/HR] [TABLE="width: 100%"]
    [TR]
    [TD] [SIZE=-1] John Black <support@freemake.com> [/SIZE] [/TD]
    [TD="align: right"] [SIZE=-1] Fri, Jul 22, 2011 at 2:27 AM [/SIZE] [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="colspan: 2"] [SIZE=-1] To: Ryan Lewandowski <ryan.lewandowski23@gmail.com>
    [/SIZE] [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="colspan: 2"] [TABLE="width: 100%"]
    [TR]
    [TD] [SIZE=-1] Hi!
    Just inform Apple support team, the programs are different.

    Best regards,
    John Black,
    Support Assistant
    www.freemake.com

    Find Freemake Youtube to MP3 Tool

    [/SIZE][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    Honestly I'm not sure what to say. But, it does this behavior on both my user and my wife's user on this pc. Maybe I will try this on both our laptops and see if it is only this pc. However, if that's the case I don't I'm not sure what could be causing this? Video drivers?

    I have a Nvidia Geforce GTX 570 with the newest Nvidia drivers.
     
  6. spidertaker23

    spidertaker23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you running iTunes 10.4 64 bit?
     
  7. spidertaker23

    spidertaker23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's any consolation I am running iTunes 10.4 32-bit on my Windows XP Professional SP3 pc at work and if I put my taskbar on the top ... iTunes 10.4 exhibits the same problem.

    Both of Freemakes software exihits the same problem on my as well as iTunes 10.4.

    What version of iTunes are you running?
     
  8. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    Some graphic cards have control centers that allow you to define your screen top\bottom\left\right. Maybe you need to reconfigure these values in your GPU settings. Look around there and see if you can find anything. If not, get back and we'll keep looking for solutions.

    p.s. in 2006, people had that same problem with itunes 7 and itunes announced it as a known bug and recommended to uninstall G-Force. That's why I suspect that the GPU is the culprit.
     
  9. spidertaker23

    spidertaker23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thinking it doesn't have anything to do with my video card now that I have received responses on my apple support forum post:

    https://discussions.apple.com/message/15699666#15699666

    Looks like I'm not the only one. I don't recall having this problem with iTunes 10.3. I wish I could find the latest version of iTunes 10.3 to test it again with the old version.
     
  10. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    Since it also happens with Freemake - who have nothing to do with apple, it's a graphic bug between software and hardware and the GPU is in charge of handling the graphics and displays. So yes, the software developers have to come up with a solution but in the meantime, you can try the GPU settings. Sorry I couldn't be more of a help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...