What is the best way to install a bigger HD on a Vista laptop?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Installation' started by jgadrums, May 28, 2008.

  1. jgadrums

    jgadrums New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Windows Vista Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron E1705 laptop. I would like to install a bigger HD, I know Vista has a built in back-up system. I just want to do a HD switch as easy as I can, I have used Norton Ghost on XP and I never really liked the way it worked, is that my only choice?
     
  2. superbill

    superbill New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. jgadrums

    jgadrums New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could I just install the new HD, re-install Vista, then use the vista backup/restore option to restore my files to the new HD?
     
  4. superbill

    superbill New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. Xthermal

    Xthermal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    With my experience with Vista, I tried the Ghosting and then transfering over. It didnt work and it corrupted alot of my files. If I were you I would just junk it and put the new Hard Drive in and just do a fresh install on vista. It dosent take that long to install Vista anyway. Just save anything you need to keep and your done.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi, this web page may be of interest to you...:
    Back to Basics #1 - Cloning a hard disk | Hardware 2.0 | ZDNet.com
     

Share This Page

Loading...