When is Administrator Name-Password Created

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by rr53891bk, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. rr53891bk

    rr53891bk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I purchased a new HP laptop which included Windows 7 – Home & Premium. I did the install, however, I do not remember during the install asking me to create the Administrator ID along with a password. I did create the Recovery Disks, but have not yet rebooted. When is the Administrator’s ID created? I do remember seeing an ID that may have been the default Administrator ID (Rick-PC). But I don't remember typing a password. If so, what are my options to either create an Administrator ID and a password? Or if it was created, can I find out what the password was or change it? Thank You Rick
     
  2. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Capture.PNG If you go into control panel, click on Users Account and you will find where you can create a password or change a password. Not sure about the administrator ID. I don't want to give you the wrong information about that.

    Just did some checking and you can go into your Bios setup and also create a Supervisor password. I don't know if that would answer your question as far as an Administrator password or not.
     
    #2 Sonny, Mar 13, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2011
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    The real administrator account is normally deactivated, so you do not create a password for it. There are ways to activate it, but most folks do not.
     
  4. Veegertx

    Veegertx Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    19
    Rick-PC will not be the Administrator
    There is no Admin pass by default and you won't set it up unless using an unattended xml. Can boot into safe mode login as Admin and set pass there (recommended). if logged in as Admin you can change password like yours by double clicking your picture at top of start upper right.
     

Share This Page

Loading...