where is the keyboard focus?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by stueycaster, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    I'm trying to learn keyboard shortcuts. Sometimes I can't see where the focus is. Is there a shortcut to point it out. I haven't been able to find one. :confused:
     
    #1 stueycaster, Nov 28, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 28, 2010
  2. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    Re: where is the *&%$@ keyboard focus?

    Focus? Do you mean the magnifier?

    Windows Key +
     
  3. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Re: where is the *&%$@ keyboard focus?

    Hey stuey. :) . I'm not quite sure what you mean?
    What do you mean by focus?
     
  4. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
  5. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Oops, I'm sorry about the title. Now I know. :redface:

    What I mean is, when you are moving around the open window using the Tab Key it puts a little dotted line square around whichever item it comes to next. You can then push the Enter Key to activate it. The best name I can think of to call it is "Focus". You guys might (probably) know a better term.

    Anyway, sometimes I can't see which item it's on. I was wondering if there is a key (or combination) I can push to highlight it or something.
     
  6. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    You would sometimes call this the selected value or active selection. Either way, it's up to the program in question. In Windows, when you tab around in Explorer, for example, it very well shows you the selections that are being made by either highlighting them or placing a border around the active selections. If you are not seeing this, check your display options, and turn everything on. However, the default behavior in Windows should be unchanged.

    With custom built applications and programs, it can very much be at the discretion of the software developer. If it was developed in such a way that it doesn't use Visual Basic style GUI, and instead uses its own, custom coded interface, you could run into a problem. But in Windows you're always going to get highlighted tabs pretty much everywhere.

    How did that disappear? I have no idea. I would seriously consider doing a System Restore if you can't get it back or setting your theme back to default and setting all visual performance settings under System Properties to their maximum.
     
  7. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Cool, Thanks Mike. Those terms do make a lot more sense. It's great to know people who really know about computers.

    The problem I'm having is in Firefox of course. That's the program I spend most of my time in. It's working as it should in Explorer. I guess Tab Key Navigation isn't really an option with web pages in Firefox. I'm going to check out how this works in other browsers.

    The reason I am so stuck on Firefox is because I can't stand the idea of surfing the web without NoScript. I had to reinstall Windows for my neighbor a couple weeks ago because of a virus. Even though I love the internet the way I do it scares me half to death.

    And again, sorry for the inappropriate title. It won't happen again.
     
  8. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    In Firefox its alt-F, alt-E, alt-V, alt-H, alt-B, alt-T, alt-H and so on :) Tab support needs to be provided by the software maker. One reason it may not be in Firefox is that it is still, under the hood, very much a Linux-centric application. The thought may not have crossed their mind or there is some other way to do it.
     
  9. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Aah-haa, I see a need for a new extension. Too bad I don't develop software. Maybe there is something already there. A little research is in order I see.
     

Share This Page

Loading...