Win 7 install OK, want to install XP on another drive

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by weetoots, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. weetoots

    weetoots New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed Windows 7-64 and it is running fine. Some of my very old programs will not work in Win 7.
    Can I install Win XP on another drive in the system and use it for older software? Do I need to do a special format of the other drive, like maybe Fat-32 only or install an even older ver. of windows, 95, 98.??
    I imagine I can control the dual boot choice through my Bios???

    Thanks,

    Al
     
  2. JessicaD

    JessicaD New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    13
    Al,

    You can install Windows XP on a second hard drive however it will write over the boot loader. You will need to insert the Windows 7 CD after your Windows XP install and repair the installation so that you will have an option to boot into either Windows 7 or Windows XP.

    Also, should you require additional assistance with this process Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Support Forum located here Windows 7 Category. It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You may want to check the threads there for additional support.

    Jessica
    Microsoft Windows Client Team
     
  3. gavin19

    gavin19 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    11
    If you have Professional or Ultimate then use XP mode rather than installing XP, that way you can use your old apps seamlessly in W7.

    If not then use Virtualbox in Seamless mode. I find this is quicker and more responsive than XP mode and Vbox is totally free.

    Just two alternatives to installing XP on a second hard drive and having the pain of having to boot into XP just for the sake of using a few old apps.
     
  4. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    I don't use the programs, but, from what I read, so far none of the available "virtual " programs run in 64BIt??
     
  5. gavin19

    gavin19 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    11
    Well Vbox does, I don't know about the rest. I even tried running W7 64bit from within my own 64bit version to try and resolve a problem for another user a few days ago and it worked fine :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...