Win 7: MEMORY_MANAGEMENT blue screens

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Scraps, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, I got windows 7 installed last year along with a new computer in december. Before I took the computer home, the guy assembling my computer offered to install OpenOffice.org 3.1 (en-us) so that i had a word process until i got word2007. When I started up the computer at home, the problems started immediately. I got this 'Memory Management' screen along with failures in the repair tool which causes me to restart the computer and not repair but istead starting windows normally. As a result, i just leave the computer on so that I don't have to deal with the chance of memory management issues - it especially occurs after I install new software. And I have checked for viruses and there are none.

    Attached to this post are pictures of typically what happens. the pictures are numbered from 1 through to 7 to avoid confusion - the uploading picture system doesn't seem to put them in that order.

    I tried doing 'Event viewer' search and I got 8,347 logs on application, 5,433 on security, 128 on setup, and 20,709 for system if that helps.

    Here's hoping you can help me out :).


    Scraps.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 5..JPG
      5..JPG
      File size:
      436.7 KB
      Views:
      876
    • 4..JPG
      4..JPG
      File size:
      480.9 KB
      Views:
      2,166
    • 6..JPG
      6..JPG
      File size:
      672 KB
      Views:
      753
    • 7..JPG
      7..JPG
      File size:
      603.8 KB
      Views:
      619
    • 3..JPG
      3..JPG
      File size:
      464.9 KB
      Views:
      566
    • 2..JPG
      2..JPG
      File size:
      475.6 KB
      Views:
      1,691
    • 1..JPG
      1..JPG
      File size:
      475.5 KB
      Views:
      2,794
  2. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just did a resource and performance monitor to helps you guys out.

    Code:
    Warnings
    
    
    WarningSeverity:
    InformationalSymptom:Missing Events in Event LogDetails:Investigate why 14% (2,525) events were lost during data collection. The settings for Event Tracing for Windows (ETW) maximum buffers and buffer size may not be optimal depending on which data sets are being collected.Related:Event Tracing for WindowsInformationalSymptom:
    The Security Center has not recorded an anti-virus product.Cause:The Security Center is unable to identify an active anti-virus application. Either there is no anti-virus product installed or it is not recognized.Resolution:1. Verify that an anti-virus product is installed.2. If an anti-virus product is installed and functioning configure Security Center to stop monitoring anti-virus status.Related:Anti-virusSeverity:
    InformationWarning:The "CPU" rating for the system is poor and may be the cause of performance problems. Reducing the number of open applications may improve system performance. Check for unnecessary startup applications and disable those that are not required. If the problem continues the CPU may need to be upgraded.Related:Performance DiagnosisSeverity:
    InformationWarning:The "Gaming graphics" rating for the system is poor and may be the cause of performance problems in multimedia applications or games. Disabling Aero Glass may improve performance in multimedia applications or games. If the problem continues the display adapter may need an updated driver or may need to be upgraded.Related:Performance DiagnosisSeverity:
    InformationWarning:The "Graphics" rating for the system is poor and may be the cause of performance problems. Disabling Desktop Composition or reducing screen resolution may improve graphical performance. If the problem continues the display adapter may need an updated driver or may need to be upgraded.Related:Performance DiagnosisSeverity:
    InformationWarning:The "Disk" rating for the system is poor and may be the cause of performance problems. Reducing the number of open applications may improve system performance. Ensure the disk has adequate free space and is defragmented. Check for unnecessary startup applications and disable those that are not required. If the problem continues the disk may need to be upgraded.Related:Performance DiagnosisSeverity:
    InformationWarning:The "Memory" rating for the system is very poor and may be the cause for performance issues. Reducing the number of open applications may improve system performance. Check for unnecessary startup applications and disable those that are not required. If the problem continues the memory may need to be upgraded.Related:Performance Diagnosis
    
     
  3. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here's also an "event viewer summary"
    Critical - 41 Kernel-Power System
    Warning - 80 SidebySide
    1000 Application Error
    1001 Dhcp-Client
    1001 Bugcheck
    1002 Application Hang
    6008 Eventlog
    7022 Service control manager
    7031 Service Control manager
    43029 atikmdag
    52236 atikmdag

    Warning
    134 Time-Service
    1014 DNS Client Events
    1530 User Profile Service

    and a whole lot of information logs. Hope this helps.
     
  4. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    I'm betting you have a bad memory module(s) or not enough memory.
    Does the guy that built your computer stand behind hisn work?
    You don't say how long this has been going on, did you just recently get this machine home or has this been going on since December?
    At any rate I would take this machine back to the builder an get him to set it right.
    BTW, I don't see why installing Open Office has any relevance.

    I truly suspect a major hardware issue.
    Leaving the computer on all the time to avoid the error messages isn't helping and could cause more damage to other hardware.

    As an aside what are your system specs?
     
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.
  5. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi thanks for the response,

    The problem happened straight away in december. The first time i turned it on at home.

    My specs to the computer are: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67 GHz 2.79 GHz
    4.00 GB RAM.
    64 bit operating system. Windows 7.

    It's good a very good video/game card as well.

    The relevance of the additional software was that the builder says that there is something called 'software crush' which happens where you install software which might not be compatible with the windows 7 software. Im not sure if he's just talking air.

    So you recommend that I get him to fix it as it's a hardware issue? It's good to know anyway because I have a one year warranty anyway.
     
  6. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    I think he's talking out his a** to be honest.
    Software either installs and works or it doesn't.
    A google search of "software crush" returns nothing relevant.
    I know for a fact that Open Office works in Win 7 64 bit.
    But that's besides the point, let's test yoiur memory.
    First download Memtest 4.00 from here

    http://www.memtest.org/

    Download the iso .zip and extract the .iso file.
    Burn that file to a CD and boot to the CD and let the diagnostic run.
    It will take some time and will find and report problems.
    If you get errors then replacing the ram is in order.
    Get the guy that built it to replace the memory.
    Don't buy cheap generic ram, go with Corsair, Crucial or another well known brand.
    Corsair and Crucial's websites can tell you what is compatible with your motherboard.
    You will need to know the motherboard make and model.

    Download CPUID from here and run it.

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

    Download the CPU-Z 1.53 64 bit .zip and unzip and run the .exe.
    This will run the tool without actually installing it.

    You will see a great deal of info about your machine.
    The mainboard tab will give you the make/model of your motherboard.
    The SPD tab will give you info on the make\type\model of installede ram.

    If you can, post screenshots of this tools output.

    Take a screen photo of the memtest screen if you encounter errors.
     
    #6 fjgold, Mar 2, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  7. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    if we need to try gather more information from your BSOD dump files please can you zip them and upload them here ?

    to setup minidumps and stop the auto restart ...............
    1. Go to Start and type in sysdm.cpl and press Enter
    2. Click on the Advanced tab
    3. Click on the Startup and Recovery Settings button
    4. Ensure that Automatically restart is unchecked
    5. Under the Write Debugging Information header select Small memory dump (256 kB) in the dropdown box
    6. Ensure that the Small Dump Directory is listed as %systemroot%\Minidump << where to find the .dmp files afterwards !
    7. Click OK twice to exit the dialogs, then reboot for the changes to take effect.
     
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.
  8. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry to sound computer illiterate... but I'm not quite sure how to 'boot the CD'. I tried restarting the computer with the CD in it and I got a quick black screen with writing on the top left corner saying 'boot from CD/DVD' and then subsequently the windows operating system started up. But what I have done so far is that I have burned the 'memtest86+ -4.00.iso' to the CD and its file type is a Disc Image File (iso).

    ickymay, do these dumped boot files automatically gather information from previous crashes or do I have to wait until my computer gets the blue screen again and then they appear and then I can zip them up?

    Thanks again.
     
  9. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    you need to use an ISO burner not just burn the file as an ISO , you need to create a bootable disk from that ISO, google making a bootable disk from an ISO ;)

    after you have setup your system to record dump files they will only be generated at the next bluescreen crash :)
     
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.
  10. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    Beat me to it Ickymay, When burned properly exploring the resulting CD will have 2 items a folder named boot and a readme.txt file.
    Inside the boot folder are two files boot.cat and memtest.img anything else and the CD isn't burned properly.
    At least that's what is on my CD and I tested it and it boots fine.
    Scraps, you may have to enter the BIOS and change the boot order to boot the CD.
     
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.
  11. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey guys,

    Thanks again for helping. Unfortunately, I don't think I've identified the problem yet. I ran the memtest overnight for 6 or so hours and no matter how many times it ran (9 I think), it reported no errors. Blergh. See attached. I can't take pictures of the CPUID thing as I ran out of batteries -_- but I'll post these pics very soon (when my relatives wake up and give me their camera).

    I ran the CPUID program. This is what I got from the mainboard:
    Mother Board:
    Manufacturer and Model = absent.
    Chipset: Intel. DMI Host Bridge.
    Rev: 11.
    Southbridge: Intel. P55.
    LPCIO: ITE. IT8720.

    the box that the motherboard came with says that it's a 'Ultra Durable 3 Motherboard' - 'P55-UD3R' with windows 7 support. the side of the box shows LGA1156 'for core 17/5 procesor'. it's made by 'Giga-Byte Technology Co Ltd'.

    SPD:
    Slot 1 and slot2 are identical.
    so, Slot: DDR3
    Module size: 2048 Mbytes
    Max Bandwidth: PC3-10700H (667 MHz)
    Manufacturer: GEIL
    Part Number: CL9-9-9 DDR3-1600
    Week/Year: 40/09.
    The rest are blank.

    The timings table is identicle to each slot as well but i won't type out the numbers here and I'll post it here when I get hold of another camera.

    Ickymay - I'm going to try your idea now and install some software. That should get the system to crash when i restart it again.

    EDIT: I checked the minidump folder and there's already at least 10 minidump files (.dmp) already in there starting from december 20 last year (when i got my computer i presume).

    Thanks all again.
     

    Attached Files:

    #11 Scraps, Mar 2, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  12. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    *sigh* it's hard to crash the computer when you want it to - it really has a mind of its own but generaly crashs after softwae installations and the subsequent restart but i'll keep trying. Until that happens, here's the zip to all the previous mini dumps. I think these files are probably alright because the memory management screen doesn't restart anyway and probably does the minidump anyway - but that's just what i think.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    Still think a hardware issue here, oh well.
    Do you have restore media like a Win 7 DVD?
    This just in case all else fails and a reinstall is in order.
     
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.
  14. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    well, i did the memtest with both RAM thingies inside. I'm not sure if I'm meant to test each one individually. *shrugs*
    But I have the installation CD of Windows 7 so yeah. Hopefully Ickymay can somehow read into the .dmp's :) . but I'll get a most recent memory management blue screen asap.
     
  15. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    I can only imagine he meant software crash ?

    there is nothing in the .dmp files to suggest open office is a problem.

    every crash has tipped over the NT kernel with no drivers named as the cause ...................

    • 122009-23197-01.dmp 20/12/2009 15:35:34 IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 0x0000000a fffffa82`05c0e8d0 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000000 fffff800`028c7eeb ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+71f00 x64 D:\downloads\122009-23197-01.dmp
    • 122209-14445-01.dmp 22/12/2009 18:12:32 CRITICAL_OBJECT_TERMINATION 0x000000f4 00000000`00000003 fffffa80`05085b30 fffffa80`05085e10 fffff800`02dc6240 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+71f00 x64 D:\downloads\122209-14445-01.dmp
    • 122309-15319-01.dmp 23/12/2009 09:02:32 SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED 0x1000007e ffffffff`c0000005 fffff880`012b5320 fffff880`031af018 fffff880`031ae870 Ntfs.sys Ntfs.sys+e4001 x64 D:\downloads\122309-15319-01.dmp
    • 122609-19546-01.dmp 26/12/2009 12:42:02 MEMORY_MANAGEMENT 0x0000001a 00000000`00041287 00000000`00000058 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 Ntfs.sys Ntfs.sys+10953 x64 D:\downloads\122609-19546-01.dmp
    • 012310-16286-01.dmp 23/01/2010 06:02:40 ATTEMPTED_WRITE_TO_READONLY_MEMORY 0x000000be fffff880`018fd593 00000001`187c4121 fffff880`031a1180 00000000`0000000b cdrom.sys cdrom.sys+5593 x64 D:\downloads\012310-16286-01.dmp
    • 020910-14632-01.dmp 09/02/2010 11:47:28 MEMORY_MANAGEMENT 0x0000001a 00000000`00041790 fffffa80`03362e50 00000000`0000ffff 00000000`00000000 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+71f00 x64 D:\downloads\020910-14632-01.dmp
    • 021010-18096-01.dmp 10/02/2010 09:55:38 SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED 0x1000007e ffffffff`c0000005 fffff800`02bfb00e fffff880`031bd888 fffff880`031bd0e0 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+1a400e x64 D:\downloads\021010-18096-01.dmp
    • 022210-19656-01.dmp 22/02/2010 21:52:40 MEMORY_MANAGEMENT 0x0000001a 00000000`00041790 fffffa80`027629a0 00000000`0000ffff 00000000`00000000 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+71f00 x64 D:\downloads\022210-19656-01.dmp
    • 022310-17737-01.dmp 23/02/2010 09:15:52 MEMORY_MANAGEMENT 0x0000001a 00000000`00041790 fffffa80`02762850 00000000`0000ffff 00000000`00000000 Ntfs.sys Ntfs.sys+b2e42 x64 D:\downloads\022310-17737-01.dmp
    • 022410-17674-01.dmp 24/02/2010 15:27:36 0x00000109 a3a039d8`9852e4fe 00000000`00000000 cc156cbb`96cb184f 00000000`00000101 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+71f00 x64 D:\downloads\022410-17674-01.dmp
    • 022510-20514-01.dmp 25/02/2010 21:32:30 SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION 0x0000003b 00000000`c0000005 fffff960`000a768b fffff880`087120e0 00000000`00000000 win32k.sys win32k.sys+7768b x64 D:\downloads\022510-20514-01.dmp
    • 022610-15319-01.dmp 26/02/2010 07:45:46 PROCESS1_INITIALIZATION_FAILED 0x0000006b ffffffff`c0000428 00000000`00000003 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+71f00 x64 D:\downloads\022610-15319-01.dmp
    • 022810-20108-01.dmp 28/02/2010 17:55:38 MEMORY_MANAGEMENT 0x0000001a 00000000`00041790 fffffa80`033857d0 00000000`0000ffff 00000000`00000000 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+71f00 x64 D:\downloads\022810-20108-01.dmp

    for all of the thirteen .dmp files I have run through windows debugger you have seven different bug check strings and codes which would make me suspect it's hardware but the crashes could be caused by five different things ..............

    1. Old Bios version ?
    2. An overclocked system ?
    3. your Antivirus of a third party firewall ?
    4. A faulty or inadaquate Power Supply ?
    5. Faulty and or incompatible Ram ?

    On gigabytes website this is your motherboard and thisView attachment mb_memory_ga-p55-&#.pdf is the compatible memory list from them, unfortunately the Geil ram is not on that list so isn't certified by gigabyte to be compatible ?
    this doesn't mean it can't work but it means there are no guarantees it should , remembering they are 2 gig modules which will have specific voltage requirements and timings which may not be correctly set by the bios made by Gigabyte :eek:

    to debug your problems

    1. check and update to the latest Bios version ? (you can check this by typing msinfo32 into start search\click and open then look at bios date and compare by date on motherboard manufacturers website)
    2. check your clock speeds in your Bios and make sure they are standard ?
    3. unninstall completely whatever AV you are using and any third party firewall then replace with MSE and use windows firewall ?
    4. manually read the make and model for your power supply by looking at it just inside your case (do not open if this would void your warranty) ?
    5. for full RAM info download and run CPU-Z select the tab then check compatibility (we know it's not on the list)

    To test memory I get consistent results by burning to CD (using an ISO burner) & running from boot memtest86+ for at least 5 passes and moving the sticks between slots to verify motherboard ram slots work as well as the ram sticks.

    unfortunately the ram test's are not definitive and are only an indicator and to quote since windows 95 Microsoft have stated about memory testing programs
    I don't want to interfere with anything fjgold has already said so If I repeat anything already said please take it as I agree and confirm :p

    I suspect you are looking at a warranty return but make all these tests first to be sure ;)
     
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.
  16. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    Nice diagnostics Ickmay. I know memtest isn't 100% but I figured it was worth a try.

    Memtest helped me determine that some generic ram sticks I had bought were defective. The vendor gladly replaced them for me based on my testing.
    The new ram (Corsair) tested fine.

    CPU-Z is a great tool isn't it.
    CPU-Z shows the BIOS version on the mainboards tab also.
    There is a similar tool for GPU's.
    GPU-Z 0.3.9

    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/


    This definitely sounds like a warranty case to me. Thats why I refrained from suggesting stuff involving opening the case etc.
     
    #16 fjgold, Mar 3, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.
  17. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Ickymay,

    Thanks for the useful diagnosis! Here's how it goes...

    1. Yes, it's an old BIOS version which is '8/1/2009' and the latest downloadable is 2010/02/11. Reading the manual or whatever, they say it's very risky to flash update the thing so not sure if i should update.

    2. Overclocked? Im reading the manuel and it doesn't refer to any 'standard' speeds which I should be expecting. It's just all about Ratios and default mV speeds or whatever that means.

    3. Although that option is actually a good idea, but i would have no way of knowing if it made a difference. I use AVAST antivirus which i find pretty useful. um, I installed it on the 22nd of december but the problems started when i started the computer for the first time. But im downloading the MSE now and i'll uninstall AVAST and intall MSE if you think it's a good idea.

    4. The make and model of my power supply? I have the box they gave me for that. It's by WideTECH. a 550TUV Supersilent. 550 watt. It's a Intel Pentium 4 AMD RECOMMENDED. SUPERSILENT Power 2.3.

    5. yep. we've already dealt with this option. And i have the stats at the top of this page for the RAM sticks.

    I'll leave the Memtest thing with changing the RAM and slots alone. I'm not sure if I'll accidently break the RAM sticks knowing me.

    Does that help? thanks again :)
     
  18. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    I don't think your going to be able to make any progress until you have updated your BIOS, if you don't feel competent you will need to take it to a local friendly technician ;)
     
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.
  19. Scraps

    Scraps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    hmm, I downloaded the latest version of BIOS (F6) however I came up with a problem. After I extracted the file into a FAT32 USB. I double clicked on the extracted file (it was also a .exe called FLASHSPI.exe and autoexec.bat) and a warning message came up "The version of this file is not compatible with the version of windows you're running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need an x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the software publisher".

    Well, the windows is obviously 64 bit.

    So maybe the updates are for 32 bit systems and not for windows 7. EDIT - i tested all the versions of the updates and none of them are compatible with 64 windows.

    By the way, I went to the control panel and did a performance information and tools options. I wanted to test the rating for the computer but at the end an error message came up and wrote "The Windows Experience Index for your system could not be computed. Cannot complete assessment. The assessment or other operation did not complete successfully. This is due to an error being reported from the operating system, driver or other component."
     
    #19 Scraps, Mar 3, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
  20. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    195
    With the usb inserted and the bios files on it, reboot and press the end key at boot to go into the qflash utility and flash the board from there. Hope this helps :)
     
    Scraps and (deleted member) like this.

Share This Page

Loading...