win 7 rc x64 wont detect 4 gb ram

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by jeanpaulelqueso, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. jeanpaulelqueso

    jeanpaulelqueso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    help again guys.. mi win 7 doesnt detect mi 4gb of ram even though i just installed the 64 bit version clean..
     
  2. valoc

    valoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure that the RAM is functional first (Meaning that it works).

    Have you updated Windows?

    Have you cleared cmos & load defaults in BIOS?

    Check BIOS for to see if that recognizes it.
    Look up the mobo manual for any memory config issues.
     
  3. ghost_301

    ghost_301 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try to boot with one stick of RAM first, then only try all. Perhaps RAM is not functioning well. If it gives you the reading of 4GB previously in XP or Vista(x64), it should be the same in Windows 7.
     
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    My Win7 7201 sees and uses all my 8 Gbs of Ram alright, as well as my Vista x 64 does. As it has been suggested, you should check if your bios detects your total amount of Ram, watch at the very start for POST to detect and show the number of the total amount of Ram installed. Then see if xp x64 or vista x64 detects it alright.

    In other forums I have come across users reporting the same issue. So, I don't know really, could this be dependent on one's hardware or one's 7 build ? :confused:
     
  5. jeanpaulelqueso

    jeanpaulelqueso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup done everything.. think i will download build 7201 and try luck.. thx for the help anyway..
     

Share This Page

Loading...