Win 7 won't let me run chkdsk from command prompt

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by dkperez, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. dkperez

    dkperez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran one of the performance reports today, which claims I have a disk with the dirty bit set. Recommended running chkdsk..... Fired up a command prompt and typed

    chkdsk v: /f/r/x

    And got:
    Access Denied as you do not have sufficient privileges.
    You have to invoke this utility running in elevated mode.

    SO, I right-clicked and ran the command prompt as an Administrator. EVEN THOUGH I'M ALREADY AN ADMINISTRATOR.

    Got exactly the same result.

    Went into the command properties and SET the thing to "Run as Administrator".

    Same result.

    UAC is turned OFF.

    There are days with Windows 7 where I feel like everything is 2 steps forward and 1 step back. How do I make it let me do a simple chkdsk - no I DON'T want to set something to have it run at boot, or go find some 3rd party program to do the same thing. I just want to run chkdsk from this box from a command windows.

    How do I do this?
     
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Works here??
     
  3. dkperez

    dkperez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's great. It means it does work... So HOW do I make it "work HERE"?
     
  4. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    I assume cmd works or you can't get to the command prompt...
    Do other programs like bcdedit, defrag, ftp, msconfig, where, etc. run from the command prompt?
     
  5. dkperez

    dkperez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can get a command window with no problem. Defrag, msconfig, ftp all work fine from command prompt. Only thing that complains is chkdsk... Is there a service I might have turned off or a program feature I might have disabled that'd cause this not to work?
     
  6. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    you can run chkdsk.exe directly from your Windows directory.. Might have to add some start parameters though.
     
  7. pcs3657

    pcs3657 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    13
  8. jkitney

    jkitney New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Driver Issue

    The problem is with the hard disk and not windows 7. check that you can access the hard disk before invoking check disk in elevated mode.. ;)
     
  9. Ignas

    Ignas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Temporarily switch off your antivirus software that protects your file system. For example, Avast can cause such privilege problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...