Win 7 wont recognize AMD Processor

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by snieves, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. snieves

    snieves New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Just installed win 7 last night and found i had this problem. My processor is AMD Turion 64 x2 Mobile Technology, and it only recognizes 1 of 2 Processors. In the task bar as well it only displays 1 processor, and its obviously running high most of the time.

    Maybe you guys can help me out!

    Thanks,
    Sean
     
  2. PhillyKing

    PhillyKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's how to enable dual core cpus.

    I had the same issue and found this on techrepublic.com

    You need to rename the HAL.DLL (located in C:\windows\system32) to HAL.BAK then copy HALMACPI.DLL to HAL.DLL. This installed the multiprocessor version of the HAL and enabled 2 CPUs to be recognized in all of my applications properly.

    Since HAL.DLL is not normally editable in a running OS, you have to boot up off the Vista (Windows7) CD and go into Repair mode and to the Command Prompt to make these changes.

    Original Poster only known as itcontact1....

    This will fix that problem.
     
  3. snieves

    snieves New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks PhillyKing, I'll give this a try later on, let ya know if it works!
     
  4. PhillyKing

    PhillyKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did that solve your problem?
     
  5. calicheese23

    calicheese23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. PhillyKing

    PhillyKing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...