Win7 Logo freezes, restarts bootup.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by Kineticboy2001, May 14, 2010.

  1. Kineticboy2001

    Kineticboy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My personal Desktop computer [AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5800+, 4G o RAM, Windows 7 build 7600? (I'm not sure)] is experienceing an odd problem I've never encountered before.

    At the logo screen on startup, about where the balls of light touch...
    windows-7-screenshot-startup.
    ...it freezes for a second, then reverts back to my initial ASUS "Press Del for BIOS" screen.

    Setting the BIOS has proven uneventful so far and I don't have any kind of boot disk to repair. The only reason I can think of is that just before this happened the computer BSOD'd giving WG11111T.sys the blame. That I've identified as the USB wireless internet dongle I had attached to the computer. I can't fathom why that would have this kind of effect on my PC as it BSOD'd because of this exact reason before with no startup problems whatsoever. (I know, I should have stopped using the first time it happened, but I need internet for my work.)

    If anyone has had this problem or could provide insight as to what I'm supposed to do I would appreciate it.

    Also, just to let you know, since I can't get into my computer I don't think I can run any programs to fix it unless someone knows otherwise. So far the furthest I've gotten is adjusting the BIOS.
     
  2. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    do a 7 repair install from CD - it may help
     
  3. Kineticboy2001

    Kineticboy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, I imagine it would... but like I said, I don't have a boot disk.
     
  4. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    why is there no disc?

    what about pulling the WG111T stick while booting?
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Have you tried booting to safe mode and disable the device or reinstall the driver? Windows may have updated it for you and caused a problem.

    See if you can download a repair CD from NeoSmart Technologies.
     
    #5 Saltgrass, May 14, 2010
    Last edited: May 14, 2010
  6. Kineticboy2001

    Kineticboy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, progress.. so to speak. Thank you very much, this does something new, though I'm not sure what. Would it be best to burn this to a disk and run it from there? I had partitioned a part of an external hard drive to boot from but all I'm getting is a blinking cursor or "Invalid partition table."

    I'm going to burn it and try again.
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    The .iso file needs to be burned to a CD as an image at slow speed. You can then boot to it.

    You probably need to unplug the external drive, it may be adding to the problem if it was connected previously.
     
  8. Kineticboy2001

    Kineticboy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, regardless of how I try to burn it it always tells me there is a boot error and to restart by selecting the correct boot device. The only new thing is that it gives me a completely different screen showing everything about my computer with text at the bottom saying "Press ESC to Boot... 5, 4, 3, etc."
     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Have you tried testing the Repair CD in another computer....

    I do not remember the senario you seem to describe, but I have not used the downloaded version of the Repair CD.

    Is this a purchased computer and is there any chance it has some type of Recovery system that might be interferring?

    When you boot do you have an option to use the f12 key to boot to different devices?

    Does your bios show the DVD as the first boot device?
     

Share This Page

Loading...