WINDOWS 7 brings my CPU TO 100% HELP!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by zarl, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. zarl

    zarl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone!

    i just got my copy of WINDOWS 7 today and i did a full reboot.

    I notice that i cant run any of my software due to my 100% cpu usage..
    i barely got any software on it,

    -Avir anti virus
    -Win rar
    - ableton live 7

    so there is barely anything on there..my windows 7 is slow... So i been doing research on internet about this.
    i looked at process explorer and I notice the section System idle has a high percentage ,around 80%.. But i cant figure anything out yet ..

    i have a 1.8 ghz pentium 4 - 2 gig ram - radeon 128mb 9600Xt graghic card
    -another thing, i heard people posting solution caused by the POWER USAGE.. but i cant figure it out

    anybody able to help me?

    What can i do to make my system normal again? im very confuse

    thank you
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    System idle normally shows around 98% because it shows what is not being done. You need to look for other things taking 5-30% of the CPU time. There may be some indexing going on or something else, but it may take some time.

    Where did you get Winrar? The last time I tried to download that it had a virus with it.
     
  3. zarl

    zarl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got winwar from google, the 3rd link

    and I notice something else, everytime i move my mouse, the cpu Goes crazy , its even worst when i highlight.
    i went into msconfig and desactivated the startup to test and still no go.All my drivers updates are fine ...i dont know what to do anymore.. i am very dissapointed :(
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I believe the OP from the other thread said his system corrected itself.

    But if your is still acting up, check Task Manager to see what is using the CPU time. It helps sometimes to click when you see something using processing power, then you can follow it. Clicking on the top of the columns changes the way the processes are displayed, so you can click on cpu and the process with the highest (or lowest) usage shows up first.

    I will do some research an get back to you.
     
  5. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    You mean CLEAN install or did you update Vista? Your problems sound like those that appear after upgrading.
     
  6. zarl

    zarl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for your help :)

    btw , is a clean sweep , not a upgrade

    I been tryin to track it. I was clicking,moving and highlighting with the mouse until the processor goes up to 66 from windows explorer

    Is my machine just too slow for windows 7?
     
  7. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Should be ok... try disabling the av and other programs that run at startup, reboot and test.

    Check the link in my tagline for Identifying problems.
     
  8. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Where did you get Winrar with a virus? Was the virus the trojan that leaves b.exe in your \system32 folder?
     
  9. zarl

    zarl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    been there, Done that :(
     
  10. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It seems strange that moving a mouse would cause that much processing power to be used. I might think you had some conflict in the resources used for the mouse and something else. What type of mouse do you have and are you using any special drivers?

    Are there any other processes that increase usage along with the Explorer?

    Are you showing any warnings or errors in the Event Viewer?

    What anti-virus software are you running? Any spyware detection stuff?

    Process Explorer, which can be downloaded from the Microsoft site below gives a more detailed picture of what is going on in your system. I do not see anything that would track mouse movement, but maybe something else would show up. You can hold the mouse over certain processes and it will show what is running inside of them. It does show cpu usage of the threads running.

    Process Explorer

    And for tblount, my virus loaded download came from Download.com
     
  11. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    What virus was it? Do you know where I could get your copy? I suspect a false hit. I would like to see for myself. Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...