Windows 7 CPU Usage 100%?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by readthis, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. readthis

    readthis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    First off, I have a:

    1. Acer Aspire 5532
    2. AMD Athlon Processor TF-20 1.60 GHz
    3. 3 GB RAM
    4. 64-bit Operating System
    5. Windows 7 Home Premium (When I purchased the laptop it already had Windows 7 installed)
    Now the problem is, the CPU usage is 100% the majority of the time. If I open anything such as, iTunes, FireFox, IE, etc.; the cpu meter is at 90-100%. From time to time I would have like just iTunes on and it I would say "lags" as in the mouse doesn't move smoothly, like it moves, stops, moves, stops, slowly..? I can't really explain how it acts, but I guess slow. Sometimes when I don't have any programs running, the meter goes to 100% anyway. I have no viruses what so ever; I had just recently bought it. Is it due to battery options? (high performance, battery saver). I can't seem to find the problem. I'm pretty familiar with how a CPU works but not as much. Help?
     
  2. readthis

    readthis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I went to start up in MS Config and unchecked some things. After I have done so, do I have to restart?
     
  3. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Yes.. any modifications dealing with what is running and what is being loaded do not take effect until you reboot.

    Press Ctrl +shift+ esc and click the Processes tab and it will tell you exactly what is using your cpu and how much it's using. Mine runs at 1 to 3 percent usage all the time.
     
  4. readthis

    readthis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I left this out before but maybe its important. The CPU usage goes up to 100% randomly. As in, I would just let my computer sit there, not opening anything and it would be at like 3-12% CPU usage half the time but the other half just be at 100%. Its like an on and off switch! I'll try rebooting it.
     
  5. finalmega173

    finalmega173 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Omg i have the same problem too!!

    HAHA i am trying to find a solution to this all day! I tried everything.. msconfig, disk cleanup and even RegCure. And still lags as hell. I upgraded my laptop from vista home premium to windows 7 home premium. And now I'm deciding to re-install again, choosing 'custom' this time. I hope this changes everything X_X
     
  6. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    I don't know why you couldn't watch your processes and catch what is reving up your cpu. I would have probably sit and watched it an hour just to catch it... or recorded it and fast play through.
     
    #6 tblount, Oct 29, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
  7. wcb123

    wcb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    High cpu usage

    Yeah, I've got the same problem (randomly about 60% of my quad core is locked up) - and when I look at processes it tells me that system idle is 95-99 with taskmg & iexplore the remainder. Under cpu processes it shows system interrupts as the culprit. As a clue perhaps when the problem occurs I also lose my USB hub.
     
    #7 wcb123, Oct 29, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
  8. readthis

    readthis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, switching to Windows Classic won't solve it; tried. Anyone got any other suggestions?
     
  9. JessicaD

    JessicaD New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    13
    Which anti-virus application do you currently have installed? Have you run a virus scan? It sounds as though there are processes or applications that are unauthorized and running in the background.

    Also, Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Support Forum located here Windows 7 Category . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You are welcome to also check the threads available there for additional assistance and feedback.

    Jessica
    Microsoft Windows Client Team
     
  10. finalmega173

    finalmega173 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    I solved my problem. I just reinstalled windows 7 to 64bit(32bit is slower as it uses your CPU instead of your RAM). And its running smoothly and great. I recommend upgrading to windows 7. Thanks!
     
  11. wcb123

    wcb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question

    +

    Do I understand that your problems were after you upgraded to Windows 7 32 Bit? I thought we had the same problem, but I have been using 64bit all along and am still having the system interrupts/cpu problem after numerous driver updates.
     
  12. Alligator

    Alligator New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    System Interrupts...well named

    I have the same or very similar problem on my HP desktop. I did Win7 upgrade from Vista. Hasn't worked well since. "System Interrupts" goes to 75 (very high), CPU process goes to 90%, and I'm kicked off the internet. Then it won't shut down, so something must be running in the backgrould. This is a six-month old computer with very little useage and only a few programs. I use wireless and the other computers (XP) in the house work fine. I'm on 64 bit.
     
  13. russelltcampbel

    russelltcampbel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem

    I have the same computer as you and its doing the same thing. I just bought it new from Best Buy less than a week ago. I removed all the extra game programs and other things that come pre installed. And still it randomly jumps to 100%.
     
  14. wcb123

    wcb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    CPU usage problem with Windows 7

    Wow, at least my quad core is "only" saturating at about 60% during my episodes. I am now in a microsoft support chat trying to determine a cause. It obviously isn't easy to isolate a cause (I've spent over 5 hours in the chat sessions so far). Updating drivers & programs hasn't done anything. If we do identify a cause, it will be posted here in UPPER CASE LETTERS. And usually (about 90+%) restarting clears the problem for a while.:confused:
     
  15. wcb123

    wcb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    CPU usage with Windows 7

    My problem start the day, hour and minute I upgraded from Vista Home Premium 64bit to Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit. I have not removed Windows 7 and returned to Vista - but, I believe others in these threads have and the problem went away. My Machine is a new in May CyberPower. AMD Phenom II X4 940 3.4GHz, 8GB Ram
     
  16. Nimble

    Nimble New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the same problem.

    Got a HP desktop, dualcore 4,2 GHz, 2GB ram, ATI 4870

    Just did a clean install of Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, now one of the processors is stuck at 100% while the other works as normal.

    Evil guy in my case, System Interrupts

    Only drivers installed is the ATI for the V-card and Creative for my soundcard.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. wcb123

    wcb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. readthis

    readthis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the problem for me did not go away but eased. Instead of constant 100% CPU usage, it only hits 100 about 2/5 the time and not randomly. Which is wonderful! But I didn't do anything to fix the problem and apparently it eased. Anyone know the answer?
     
  19. karsenault

    karsenault New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem

    Yes, I had this problem almost immediately after installing Windows 7. One core will randomly stick at 100%.
    I have a gateway P-173X FX. With windows 7 64-bit home
    I do remember having this problem in vista, but it was solved after i updated a few drivers (wish i could remember which ones now). So i definitely think its a driver issue.
    Maybe now that windows 7 is released companies will make proper support for it in the way of new drivers...
    But until then, I'm going to watch this thread like a hawk.
     
  20. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    You have a log that will record driver problems. Click Start and type EV and press enter.. look under \custom at the logs. Of course there may also be yellow flags when you run Device Manager.
     

Share This Page

Loading...